Page 2 of 2

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:05 pm
by BillyBoyo
  OUTFIL BUILD=(6,10,80:X),VTOF


This will put a blank at column 80, and pad any intervening columns with space.

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:12 pm
by sange-sherin
Hi BillyBoyo,

I am facing error the follwoing error :
********************************* TOP OF DATA
 STMT NO. MESSAGE                             
       13 IEFC630I UNIDENTIFIED KEYWORD DIPS 
******************************** BOTTOM OF DAT


MY SORT JCL:


 //SORT1 EXEC PGM=SORT                                         
 //SYSOUT  DD SYSOUT=*                                         
 //SORTIN  DD DSN=BEJGB2.X186625.CONTROL.D131125.TEST2,DISP=SHR
 //SORTOUT  DD DSN=BEJGB2.X186625.SORT.D131202.TEST2,DIPS=OLD   
 //SYSIN   DD *                                                 
   OPTION COPY                                                 
     INCLUDE COND=(5,1,CH,EQ,C'T')                             
      OUTFIL BUILD=(2,10,80:X),VTOF                             
 /*                                                             


can you please provide me the solution?

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:12 pm
by NicC
Sorry, but that is SO obvious that you should not have posted. Please analyse your failures. You just have to compare with what you wrote earlier to resolve the error. I usually have the error as DSIP. Anyway, topic locked. (And unlocked!)

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:44 pm
by BillyBoyo
It's just getting stuck in a groove. Happens. Kick yourself afterwards. No biggie.

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:36 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

One thing to "take away" from this is that a JCL error has nothing to do with which sort product (or any other program) was intended to run.

This is another reason that all should learn and use proper terminology . . .

As BB said - don't beat your self up - learn and move on.

d

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:44 pm
by ranga_subham
which one of below SORT cards are optimised for this question and why?

Solution-1:
//SYSIN    DD *                             
 SORT FIELDS=COPY                           
 OUTFIL INCLUDE=(1,1,CH,EQ,C'T'),BUILD=(2,10)


Solution-2:
//SYSIN    DD *               
 SORT FIELDS=COPY             
 INCLUDE COND=(1,1,CH,EQ,C'T')
 OUTREC BUILD=(2,10)         


Thanks.

Re: Taking a particular word from particular row using SORT

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:34 pm
by BillyBoyo
INCLUDE COND operates at the start of processing a record. INCLUDE= operates at the end of processing. So solution 2 is more efficient, but you don't have a lot of processing anyway.