Page 1 of 1

GETTING ERROR NO ACTIVE USING FOR OPERAND

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 6:47 pm
by tanu_2302
I am beginner in assembly coding.. i have asked to write a code for comparing three numbers. i wrote below code but it is giving me error 'no active using for num1,num2,num3 etc.. plz help me out. i am beginner.
        COPY  TXCOPY
COMPARE  TXSTART COMPARE,TYPE=MAIN,BASES=(1)
         CP    NUM1,NUM2
         BH    HIGH
         MVC   GREAT,NUM2
         CP    GREAT,NUM3
         BH    HIGHEST
         MVC   GREAT,NUM3
         B     HIGHEST
HIGH     EQU   *
         MVC   GREAT,NUM1
         B     HIGHEST
HIGHEST  EQU   *
         TXERM 'DISPLAY GREAT' GREAT
NUM1     DC    P'20'
NUM2     DC    P'80'
NUM3     DC    P'10'
GREAT    DS    PL2


topic edited to use the code tags instead of the useless bold

Re: GETTING ERROR NO ACTIVE USING FOR OPERAND

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:00 pm
by steve-myers
  1. Use code tags for your program.
  2. We have absolutely no idea what is in TXCOPY, or the TXSTART or TXTERM macros. The TXSTART macro, especially, may have a USING Assembler statement.
  3. What label (or labels) got the NO ACTIVE USING message?

Re: GETTING ERROR NO ACTIVE USING FOR OPERAND

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 10:13 am
by tanu_2302
TXCOPY,TXSTART,TXERM are all macros. They are not creating errors.
labels that are creating error are- NUM1,NUM2,NUM3,GREAT,HIGH,HIGHEST

Re: GETTING ERROR NO ACTIVE USING FOR OPERAND

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 12:12 pm
by tanu_2302
my query is resolved. thanks