Page 1 of 1

How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:37 pm
by noha_nabil
Dear All

I am new to assembler.

I have a parameter called "Date" ?

and the line in JCL is:
// SETPARM PWRJOB,MYDATE='&MYDATEX'

My Goal is to get this parameter through console, so How to do that in the Assembler Program ?

then How to access "MYDATE" that exist in the JCL to set it with the i/p value ??

plz i want the solution in its simplest form to understand it :)

Thanks

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:53 pm
by BillyBoyo
Not that easy :-)

IF it is possible it won't be something for a beginner.

The other problem you'll face asking here is a relative lack of VSE knowledge. I think I can remember seeing another VSE question since I started, but that's about it. 99.99999% z/OS. Where JCL is entirely different, not only in form, but in how it is processed.

Is said, "if the world is about to explode" then you should look into it as the only possibility of saving the world. Otherwise forget it.

I guess you can either look for a site/group/mailing-list specifically for VSE, or ask IBM. I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?

Oh, Mmmm. Getting some hits from Google. Try it out.

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:01 pm
by noha_nabil
BillyBoyo wrote:Not that easy :-)

IF it is possible it won't be something for a beginner.

The other problem you'll face asking here is a relative lack of VSE knowledge. I think I can remember seeing another VSE question since I started, but that's about it. 99.99999% z/OS. Where JCL is entirely different, not only in form, but in how it is processed.

Is said, "if the world is about to explode" then you should look into it as the only possibility of saving the world. Otherwise forget it.

I guess you can either look for a site/group/mailing-list specifically for VSE, or ask IBM. I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?

Oh, Mmmm. Getting some hits from Google. Try it out.


hhhhhh :D you resolute that to solve by assembler if the world is about to explode :D

anyway I'll try googling it otherwise forget it :D but I hope that I can do it :)

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:23 pm
by noha_nabil
BillyBoyo wrote:
I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?



u mean that website http://pi-sysprog.de/indexe.html ?

anyway I found this regarding SETPARM and HLASM:
http://pi-sysprog.de/free/pigetprm.html

I think this is what I want, but it seems Advanced. I cannot see the source code of the HLASM :(

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:29 pm
by BillyBoyo
No, I meant the Systems Programmer(s) at your site :-)

With google what looked more useful to you were references to some code from a 1989 book. I didn't look into other stuff, just looked a little to see if there would be something useful for your researches...

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:37 pm
by noha_nabil
BillyBoyo wrote:No, I meant the Systems Programmer(s) at your site :-)

With google what looked more useful to you were references to some code from a 1989 book. I didn't look into other stuff, just looked a little to see if there would be something useful for your researches...


aha .. I already asked them, no one knows how to do that.

but someone told me that it can be done with Assembler.

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:55 pm
by BillyBoyo
I googled for "vse setparm cobol".

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:53 pm
by noha_nabil
BillyBoyo wrote:I googled for "vse setparm cobol".


I reached that the solution exists in a book called "VSE JCL and subroutines for application programmers" By Leo Langevin.

He wrote a subroutine to Get and Set the JCL paramters through COBOL !!!

but the bad news is I cannot find a free version of this book :(

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:57 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Unless you have specific direction/permission from management, do not write code that requires console interraction with the operator.

Why does someone believe that this process should involve the console?

but the bad news is I cannot find a free version of this book
Not everything is free. . . (and should Not be) If it is worth having, it is worth the price to you and/or your organiation. Why should the author not be compensated for the work?

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:45 pm
by BillyBoyo
Well, I dug a little deeper with - "Leo Langevin" VSE Cobol - in google,

Found a sample ASM to get the POWER Jobname, an extensive article in Xephon from '99 with potentially relevant ASM code in it. Stopped there, because it is not me doing it.