Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby ngsivaraman » Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:23 pm

hi ,

i am new to rexx, currently i am working on this rexx code to determine the size of a dataset in kilobytes.

input can be a 'PDS' ,'PS' ,'VSAM' anything except GDG 's .Output is the size in kilobytes. It Would helpful if a sample code is provided.

Thanks in advance.
Sivaraman
ngsivaraman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:13 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby expat » Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:32 pm

Where do you source the information from to be able to process it by REXX
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby ngsivaraman » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:03 pm

Through Execio we Read the datset. From which we have to determine size of the datset.
ngsivaraman
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:13 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby expat » Thu Aug 06, 2009 6:26 pm

WRONG - EXECIO is one of the worst performers of IO for larger files.
Just think of the resource you could waste.

There are more efficient methods available, ISMF being one of them.

Suggest you have a chat with your friendly storage management team to see if they already report on this kind of thing. Why reinvent the wheel if it's already done.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:50 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum,

Through Execio we Read the datset. From which we have to determine size of the datset.

Does your family have the hardware contract? The only reason to do this is if you/your family make money based on resources required.

This is an incredible waste of system resources. . .

On a well-managed environment, it would not be permitted.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby expat » Fri Aug 07, 2009 3:58 pm

ngsivaraman

In response to your PM requesting code.
1) I do not undertake offline Q&A sessions. The forum is for all members to learn from.
2) I do not possess the code to satisfy your request, and will certainly not write any unless
- (a) I need it for myself.
- (b) It is undertaken as a commercial project

DCOLLECT D records will contain the data you need. These are detailed in the IDCAMS manual.
To read the IDCAMS manual, Click HERE

Good luck with your coding, and if you need any help with the issues you find, please let us know.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Rexx code to find the size of a dataset in kilobytes

Postby expat » Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:06 pm

Also, to give you an idea of the programming involved, I have just posted an old job on the main forum which uses REXX code to interpret DCOLLECT V records.

Click HERE to see it.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post