Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only

Postby arya_starc » Thu Jan 12, 2023 3:41 pm

Hi All,

My rexx output is always coming in upper case. Since we know rexx is case insensitive so not sure why the default output is coming in upper case only.
Can someone help me if any profile setting need to be change.
arya_starc
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:39 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only

Postby dneufarth » Thu Jan 12, 2023 5:27 pm

dneufarth
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 2:50 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only

Postby sergeyken » Thu Jan 12, 2023 6:22 pm

arya_starc wrote:Hi All,

My REXX output is always coming in upper case. Since we know rexx is case insensitive so not sure why the default output is coming in upper case only.
Can someone help me if any profile setting need to be change.

If you do not present here the SPECIFIC example of your code resulting in this problem then no one can give any reasonable answer.
For instance, in those tons of REXX code I've ever created all characters appeared exactly in that case I wanted them to appear.

This is not general REXX problem, this is YOUR SPECIFIC CODE problem.
Javas and Pythons come and go, but JCL and SORT stay forever.
User avatar
sergeyken
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only

Postby willy jensen » Fri Jan 13, 2023 1:16 am

Do you, by any chance, read the stack using something like PULL REC? Or start a subroutine with something like ARG PRM ?
To preserve case you must use PARSE PULL REC and PARSE ARG PRM respectively.
As sergeyken said, this has to be a coding error, not the product itself, so please show us some code...
willy jensen
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: Output of rexx is coming in UPPER Case only

Postby sergeyken » Fri Jan 13, 2023 1:44 am

willy jensen wrote:Do you, by any chance, read the stack using something like PULL REC? Or start a subroutine with something like ARG PRM ?
To preserve case you must use PARSE PULL REC and PARSE ARG PRM respectively.
As sergeyken said, this has to be a coding error, not the product itself, so please show us some code...

This is one possibility, out of many others.

It is not good idea: trying to guess what might be wrong in an unknown code of an unknown person. It resembles guessing in a lottery game.

Same as the call to a car service:
"Every morning I try to drive by car from home to office, but every time I failed. What do I wrong?"
Javas and Pythons come and go, but JCL and SORT stay forever.
User avatar
sergeyken
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 40 times


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post