Calling a batch utility through rexx.



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby anjali_b » Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:11 pm

Hey all,

I am working with this utility which normally executes in batch. The output from utility goes into a dataset which i need to feed as an input to REXX. Right now there is a disconnect between batch to REXX.

Submitting the batch thru REXX and then looping forever to get the output for next process is one way but not a good one.

I was trying out an alternative to execute the utility thru REXX itself but its not working out because of library (jobilb)concatenation limitation in rexx.

I was hoping to find answers to following questions:

a> How can i remove the disconnect between JCL and REXX without using the forever looping thing?
b> Is it possible to have JOBLIB/STEPLIB concatenations in REXX?
c> If a GDG base is being ALLOCATED does that mean all the generations will be allocated as in case of JCL?

Thank you,
AB.
anjali_b
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby MrSpock » Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:13 pm

???

Does REXX actually mean TSO?
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby anjali_b » Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:40 pm

REXX Program is being fed the output file from JCL.

Presently, once the JCL execution is done then REXX program is manually executed with the output file from JCL. I was wondering if the flow from JCL to REXX could happen without any manual intervention. As in, once the job ends the REXX gets invoked automatically.

I hope, that answers your question.
anjali_b
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby expat » Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:20 pm

And the answer is no.

The way to go is to execute the REXX in batch at the end of the other step in your batch job.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby anjali_b » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:31 am

Thank you Expat for your reply.

Do you reckon any difference between REXX getting executed through JCL and in TSO?

Thank you,
AB.
anjali_b
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 1:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

Postby expat » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:37 am

Not really. The REXX code can process the same in batch as in foreground, with the exception of panel displays.
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post