Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....

Postby Balamurugan3 » Tue May 25, 2010 2:39 pm

Hi All,

I am new to REXX so sorry if this is a simple question....I have an requirement in REXX where i have to use edit macro to edit a dataset.... My rexx code would get a series of inputs through panels & would edit an dataset & will submit the job , Edit Macro is working fine, but the problem is every time it edits the dataset, it opens the dataset before screen & show the changes made. I have to make it happen internally & do not want to see the changes reflected in dataset through screen, Instead it can submit the job as soon as changes are made.....

Can any one help me in this.....
Many Thanks,
Bala
Balamurugan3
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....

Postby MrSpock » Tue May 25, 2010 3:09 pm

What does your macro look like?
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....

Postby Balamurugan3 » Tue May 25, 2010 3:16 pm

This is how my macro looks like....
Actually it changes the value OLD with the value in NEW which is obtained by use of panel...

CHAMACRO :
ADDRESS ISREDIT "MACRO"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VGET (OLD) PROFILE"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VGET (NEW) PROFILE"
ADDRESS ISREDIT C OLD NEW


This macro is called by following code


ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VPUT (OLD) PROFILE"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VPUT (NEW) PROFILE"
ADDRESS ISPEXEC "EDIT DATASET('XXX.XXX.XXX')
MACRO(CHAMACRO)"
Many Thanks,
Bala
Balamurugan3
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....

Postby MrSpock » Tue May 25, 2010 5:41 pm

Where's the rest of the macro code? (like an END or SAVE or CANCEL statement?)
User avatar
MrSpock
Global moderator
 
Posts: 807
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:37 pm
Location: Raleigh NC USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Edit a dataset without opening in front of screen....

Postby Balamurugan3 » Wed May 26, 2010 9:42 am

Thanks Mr.Spock...... I have missed following END Command...

Address ISREDIT "END"

That was the one which was causing trouble.... It works fine now.....
Many Thanks,
Bala
Balamurugan3
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post