generating load module of rexx



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

generating load module of rexx

Postby syamcs » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:24 am

i got the procedure to compile a rexx program and i wrote the JCL for generating load module. But when i executed it ,i got an error stating STEPLIB dataset not found. So can any one help me in resolving this issue

when i gone through the procedure
//STEPLIB DD DSN=&COMPDSN,DISP=SHR
and
COMPDSN='#HLQREXX.SFANLMD'
syamcs
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: chennai
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Mar 01, 2011 11:57 am

i got an error stating STEPLIB dataset not found. So can any one help me in resolving this issue

nothing we can do, You must research on Your own and provide a dataset which exists/can be found
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby syamcs » Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:14 pm

yea the dataset i got it compilation is working fine now but while executing i am getting soc4 abend... plz help me
syamcs
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: chennai
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby mongan » Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:28 pm

It is impossible to help you if you do not take the time and effort to completely describe what your problem is. You have told us absolutely nothing except that you have a S0C4. No code example, no jobs, no full error message.
User avatar
mongan
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby syamcs » Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:43 pm

the rexx code is as follows
/*rexx*/
say 'hello world'
the jcl is as follows
000001 //MGMTR03E JOB ,,CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=T,NOTIFY=MGMTR03
000002 // JCLLIB ORDER=MGMTR03.REXX.EXEC
000003 //STEP1 EXEC REXXCL
000004 //STEPLIB DD DSN=REXX.SFANLMD,DISP=SHR
000005 //REXX.SYSIN DD DSN=MGMTR03.REXX.EXEC(EX1),DISP=SHR
000006 //PLKED.SYSEXEC DD DSN=REXX.SEAGCMD,DISP=SHR
000007 //LKED.SYSLIB DD DSN=REXX.SEAGLMD,DISP=SHR
000008 //LKED.SYSLMOD DD DSN=MGMTR03.REXX.LOAD(EX1),DISP=SHR
000009 //STEP2 EXEC PGM=EX1
000010 //STEPLIB DD DSN=MGMTR03.REXX.LOAD,DISP=SHR
000011 DD DSN=REXX.SEAGLPA,DISP=SHR
000012 //SYSOUT DD SYSOUT= *
000013 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT= *
MGMTR03E STEP2 - COMPLETION CODE - SYSTEM=0C4 USER=0000 REASON=00000010
THE SORCE FILE IS HAVING THE FOLLOWING FORMAT
FB,80,800
THE LOAD MODULE IS HAVING THE FOLLOWING FORMAT
U,80,800
syamcs
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: chennai
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby NicC » Tue Mar 01, 2011 3:32 pm

Your load module attributes do not look right to me, your line 11 of the jcl is invalid, what are your linkedit/binder control cards? And where is the error message apart from that displayed in your step completion line?
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby syamcs » Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:00 pm

thanks for your suggestion. but the first step is executing fine that is the compilation portion and i am getting the load module in hlq.rexx.load. But after that when i am trying to execute the load module which is in hlq.rexx.load i am getting soc4 abend.
i removed the 11th line from the JCL but still its not working.
this is the details

SYSTEM COMPLETION CODE=0C4 REASON CODE=00000010
PSW AT TIME OF ERROR 078D0000 8DB0029A ILC 4 INTC 10
ACTIVE LOAD MODULE ADDRESS=0DB00248 OFFSET=00000052
NAME=EX1
DATA AT PSW 0DB00294 - 05C01821 18305830 301058B0
syamcs
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: chennai
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby steve-myers » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:24 am

I agree the stated DCB attributes of the alleged load library appear to be questionable, but ...

Program fetch (the actual piece of z/OS that loads modules into storage) uses what is actually in the load module and completely ignores the stated DCB attributes of the load library. Now if a program like the Binder tries to read the load module it will use the stated DCB attributes, and possibly fail if it encounters something outside of these attributes.

The indicative dump seems to show a problem at the start of the program.

BALR 12,0
LR 2,1
LR 3.0
L 3,16(,3)
L 11,... (the 3rd and 4th bytes of the instruction were not printed)

The failing instruction is the L 3,16(,3) instruction.

Now, I don't know anything about the Rexx compiler, but I'd see if there is something you have to do for a program entered directly from the operating system, like your program. Reg 0 does not have a defined value in this situation, so the LR 3,0 instruction is not doing anything that is useful, which is why the program is failing.

Now you can ask, "Why do you say it is at the start of the program?" That's a fair question.
  • The load module offset is shown as X'0052', which is very low.
  • An instruction like BALR 12,0 is often used to get an address into a register for program code addressability near the beginning of a program.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby syamcs » Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:50 am

thanks steve for spending your valuable time in my problem. Still the problem is not resolved so as per your suggestion there must be some instructions have to be done before before loading the load module right. :)
syamcs
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: chennai
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: generating load module of rexx

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:47 pm

the most common reason for 0c4 abends in compiled rexx is ...
using the wrong stub
for a batch run the stub should be MVS
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Next

Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post