Page 2 of 2

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2007 7:32 pm
by MrSpock
Jeri Kattar wrote:Hi,
Can anyone help me in this regards.


Are you going to post the output from your TRACE like I asked for earlier?

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:13 pm
by Jeri Kattar
Hi,
This is the output I get, when I execute the above code.


MEM

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 11:37 pm
by MrSpock
This is my macro code:

/* REXX */                     
TRACE I                         
ADDRESS ISREDIT                 
"ISREDIT MACRO"                 
"ISREDIT (MEM) = DATASET"       
SAY MEM                         


This is the output when it runs:

     3 *-* ADDRESS ISREDIT                   
     4 *-* "ISREDIT MACRO"                   
       >L>   "ISREDIT MACRO"                 
     5 *-* "ISREDIT (MEM) = DATASET"         
       >L>   "ISREDIT (MEM) = DATASET"       
     6 *-* SAY MEM                           
       >V>   "MRSPOCK.REXX"                   
MRSPOCK.REXX                                 
***                                           

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:32 pm
by Jeri Kattar
Hi,
This is the trace obtained, when I executed the code. Return code of 20 is encountered.

      3 *-* ADDRESS ISREDIT
      4 *-* "ISREDIT MACRO"
        >L>   "ISREDIT MACRO"
        +++ RC(20) +++
      5 *-* "ISREDIT (MEM) = DATASET"
        >L>   "ISREDIT (MEM) = DATASET"
        +++ RC(20) +++
      6 *-* SAY MEM
        >L>   "MEM"
 MEM
 ***

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:57 pm
by marso
Start with /* REXX */
ISREDIT MACRO must be the 1st statement in the macro, so remove the ADDRESS ISREDIT.

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:34 pm
by MrSpock
After 15 posts, we're finally getting to where we should've been from the first post. The RC=20 is indicative of a major failure.

The only things I can think of:

1. ISPF is not active or not available.
2. The macro is not being called from an ISPF EDIT/VIEW session.

Jeri Kattar, I think it's time for you to get in touch with your System Admin team and have them look into this issue. There isn't, and hasn't, been anything wrong with your code.

Re: Getting dataset name

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 11:07 pm
by dick scherrer
Hwello,

Have you run with trace?

The output from a trace may help.