How to add one more line.



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

How to add one more line.

Postby samurai » Tue May 06, 2014 2:55 pm

Hello,

Can someone help me to write one more line below :

/* F55 R15894 03/27/2011 T SENGER CRI INFRASTRUCTURE CHANGES */
/* REMOVED EDADA AND ZBJIA */
/* F61 R15894 03/27/2011 T SENGER CRI INFRASTRUCTURE CHANGES */
/* ADDED OPTION 'U3' */
/* F65 R15894 03/27/2011 T SENGER CRI INFRASTRUCTURE CHANGES */
/* EPLI */
/*_______________________________________________________________*/
/*********************************************************************/
M3EBA:
PROC(IO_PCB_PTR,ALT_IO_PCB_PTR,PCB_OT100_PTR) OPTIONS(MAIN) REORDER;


i just want to add one more line as comment:

/* F66 R15894 03/27/2011 T SENGER CRI INFRASTRUCTURE CHANGES */
samurai
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to add one more line.

Postby prino » Tue May 06, 2014 5:23 pm

Why in the world would you repeat a line with apparently completely bogus dates and a name that is not yours?
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
User avatar
prino
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: How to add one more line.

Postby samurai » Tue May 06, 2014 6:15 pm

Hello Prino,

i think you are not clear with what i have said.

I have tried to find the word using index and wrote in output using I= I + 1.

and it went successfull.

Thanks for looking into it !!
samurai
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to add one more line.

Postby NicC » Tue May 06, 2014 6:35 pm

I have tried to find the word using index and wrote in output using I= I + 1.

This may mean something to you but it does not mean anything to anyone else! What 'word'? What index (the BIF? or an index file?)? what does I = I + 1 do (apart from increment I)? What output?

And what was wrong with just editing the dataset, repeating the line and changing F65 to F66? (Actually it looks aas though the new line should be after the line:
/* EPLI */
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: How to add one more line.

Postby samurai » Tue May 06, 2014 7:18 pm

i just want to add a line to the input so what i have done was :

1) i found the word using POS
2) incremented to + 1 where i need to write.
3) my output stem was OUT. so wrote into it as

OUT.i = substr(...) || substr(..)||date(ordered)|| ....

This way it went succesfully.. am i clear now.. Sorry if confused ;)
samurai
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to add one more line.

Postby Pedro » Wed May 07, 2014 3:52 am

1) i found the word using POS

I can curious on what you searched for with the POS() function. I think it will be a different value the next time you invoke the exec or different if you go to another member and invoke the exec.

Your data lines vaguely look like change history lines that would appear in the prolog section of some file. Rather than using the POS() function, I think you should look for a delimiter of the change flag area and then work your way back up one line at a time.
Pedro Vera

These users thanked the author Pedro for the post:
samurai (Wed May 07, 2014 2:38 pm)
User avatar
Pedro
 
Posts: 684
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: Silicon Valley
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 53 times


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post