Help with a JCL error



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Help with a JCL error

Postby cwseay » Thu May 23, 2019 4:06 am

Can someone explain why I am getting this error?
z/OS V2 R1 BINDER     18:35:54 WEDNESDAY MAY 22, 2019                          
BATCH EMULATOR  JOB(RPT1000 ) STEP(STEP1   ) PGM= IEWBLINK  PROCEDURE(LKED    )
IEW2322I 1220  1   GO.INPUT      DD  DSN=KC03MA9.COBOL(CUSTMAST), DISP=SHR    
IEW2326E 1221 THE FOLLOWING INVALID RECORD HAS BEEN SEEN:                      
         GO.INPUT      DD  DSN=KC03MA9.COBOL(CUSTMAST), DISP=SHR              
IEW2322I 1220  2   GO.SALESRPT   DD  SYSOUT=*                                  
IEW2326E 1221 THE FOLLOWING INVALID RECORD HAS BEEN SEEN:                      
         GO.SALESRPT   DD  SYSOUT=*                                            
IEW2322I 1220  3   GO.SYSOUT     DD  SYSOUT=*                                  
IEW2326E 1221 THE FOLLOWING INVALID RECORD HAS BEEN SEEN:                      
         GO.SYSOUT     DD  SYSOUT=*                                            
                                                                               
                                                                               


Here is the JCL for the job:
//RPT1000 JOB 1,'A. STUDENT',NOTIFY=&SYSUID                        
 //**************************************************                
 //* COMPILE COBOL PROGRAM                                          
 //**************************************************                
 //STEP1 EXEC IGYWCLG                                                
 //COBOL.SYSIN  DD DSN=&SYSUID..COBOL(RPT1000),DISP=SHR              
 //COBOL.SYSLIB DD DSN=CEE.SCEESAMP,DISP=SHR                        
 //LKED.SYSLMOD DD DSN=&SYSUID..LANG.LOAD(RPT1000),DISP=MOD          
 GO.INPUT      DD  DSN=KC03MA9.COBOL(CUSTMAST), DISP=SHR            
 GO.SALESRPT   DD  SYSOUT=*                                          
 GO.SYSOUT     DD  SYSOUT=*                                          
cwseay
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:28 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with a JCL error

 

Re: Help with a JCL error

Postby Robert Sample » Thu May 23, 2019 7:06 am

//RPT1000 JOB 1,'A. STUDENT',NOTIFY=&SYSUID                        
//**************************************************                
//* COMPILE COBOL PROGRAM                                          
//**************************************************                
//STEP1 EXEC IGYWCLG                                                
//COBOL.SYSIN  DD DSN=&SYSUID..COBOL(RPT1000),DISP=SHR              
//COBOL.SYSLIB DD DSN=CEE.SCEESAMP,DISP=SHR                        
//LKED.SYSLMOD DD DSN=&SYSUID..LANG.LOAD(RPT1000),DISP=MOD          
//GO.INPUT      DD  DSN=KC03MA9.COBOL(CUSTMAST), DISP=SHR            
//GO.SALESRPT   DD  SYSOUT=*                                          
//GO.SYSOUT     DD  SYSOUT=*  
With very few exceptions, JCL statements MUST start with // -- your GO. statements did not have the // and that is what the error messages are telling you.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3581
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 261 times

Re: Help with a JCL error

Postby steve-myers » Thu May 23, 2019 8:31 am

Mr. Sample is correct. I am reasonably certain his proposed solution is also correct.

It took me a couple of minutes to deduce how the non-JCL statements (because they did not have // in the first two input positions) wound up in the object input of the Binder. It took me so long because I do not deal with this type of error on a day to day basis and I do not know the exact contents of the IGYWCLG procedure, though I am familiar with similar procedures in other environments.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2009
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 219 times

Re: Help with a JCL error

Postby cwseay » Thu May 23, 2019 10:35 am

I should have caught that. It has been corrected. Using a corrected version of the JCL now I get this:
STMT NO. MESSAGE
         2 IEFC001I PROCEDURE IGYWCLG WAS EXPANDED USING SYSTEM LIBRARY USER.PROCLIB
        43 IEFC621I EXPECTED CONTINUATION NOT RECEIVED

cwseay
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:28 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Help with a JCL error

Postby NicC » Thu May 23, 2019 12:43 pm

1) It is difficult to know which statement is number 43 without the relevant part of the output but...
2) I am guessing it is because you have a space between a comma and DISP= on your //GO.INPUT line
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 129 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post