How to check MQ depth

Support for MQSeries and Websphere Message Oriented Middleware communication systems for z/OS

How to check MQ depth

Postby nikesh_rai » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:42 pm

Hi Friends,

I am very new to MQ. I was facing a issue and wanted to check the depth of MQ via CICS regions. is there any way/cics command to check MQ depth.
Thanks
Nikesh Rai
nikesh_rai

Re: How to check MQ depth

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Mar 23, 2017 7:54 pm

MQ Series is a totally separate product offering from CICS. As such, there's no CICS commands to access MQ Series. You might be able to write a CICS program to interface to MQ and do your check, but whether or not that is possible depends upon the MQ API (which I know nothing about).

These users thanked the author Robert Sample for the post:
nikesh_rai (Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:49 pm)
Robert Sample
Global moderator

Postby nikesh_rai » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:38 pm

Thanks Robert,

I checked with CICS admin, and got same reply. However, I got a tool on mainframe panel.. MQSeries and I was able to check MQ depths belongs to a specific Queue manager.
Thanks
Nikesh Rai
nikesh_rai

Postby Aki88 » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:18 am

Hello,

nikesh_rai wrote:...I checked with CICS admin, and got same reply. However, I got a tool on mainframe panel.. MQSeries and I was able to check MQ depths belongs to a specific Queue manager.

I haven't worked with MQ-Manager for a while so the information is a little foggy, but will give it a shot.
If you're looking for this solution in PROD, then pre-requisite is having access to MQ-Manager panels, most sites restrict this access; going by your last post, this is already sorted.
Once accesses are in place, then on MQ Manager browse panel (this is the primary panel that opens up), user can browse the Queue under a Queue Manager; it brings up a list of MQ. Pressing F11 here shows 'Queue Depth' on extreme right.