Debug Natural batch program



Software AG's platform-independent programming language with full support for open-source and Internet applications

Debug Natural batch program

Postby neha_anand » Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:20 pm

Hi,

I want to debug a natural program that is executed using a batch job.
I know how to debug a natural program that supports an online map, but i have no idea how to debug if the program is run using batch job. Can someone please help me with this.

Regards,
Neha
neha_anand
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Debug Natural batch program

Postby kutty » Sun May 31, 2009 12:01 pm

I want to debug a natural program that is executed using a batch job.
I know how to debug a natural program that supports an online map, but i have no idea how to debug if the program is run using batch job. Can someone please help me with this

================================================================
d-bol
Brustverkleinerung
kutty
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:59 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Debug Natural batch program

Postby dick scherrer » Sun May 31, 2009 12:11 pm

Hello,

Is this post a mistake?

Please clarify if this is a question or . . . :?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: Debug Natural batch program

Postby PAPY2000 » Sun May 31, 2009 12:17 pm

Batch uses the percentage sign (%) to mark variables. The set command is used to assign and clear variables. When DOS reads the batch file, strings like copy %var1% %var2% will be expanded to read say copy source.fil dest.fil (assuming that's what they're set to) before feeding the line to the command interpreter. %% is reduced to % when interpreted, so the at-the-prompt commandfor %a in (1 2 3) do echo %a has to be written in a batch file as for %%a in (1 2 3) do echo %%a.

Variable names have eight significant characters (I think) and are always stored as upper case (except for the 'windir' variable added by Windows). [Testing under Win95 shows that variable names can be longer than 8 characters and all characters are significant, can't say about Dos 6.] In addition to user-set variables, the entire command line is passed to the batch as the read-only variables %0 to %9. %0 is the actual batch name as typed, the rest are parameters. The shift command moves everything down by one allowing parameters past the ninth to be retrieved (this wipes out the %0 parameter so if used for the batch to call itself it must be saved to another variable).
========================================================================
muscle tech
toronto airport taxi downtown
PAPY2000
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 12:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Debug Natural batch program

Postby dick scherrer » Sun May 31, 2009 11:35 pm

Hello,

This is a mainframe question topic. . . Why post a Windows answer?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times


Return to Natural

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post