IEBDG Basics Error



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

IEBDG Basics Error

Postby RazVorox » Tue Dec 13, 2022 7:28 pm

hi all.
I'm trying to generate some data mbrs' using IEBDG.
Bottom line, no matter what I try, I end up with either a JCL Err,
or worse - with an active stuck job that is "WAITING FOR DATA SETS"

I've been through google, read the manual, tried the ibm sample code example,
Tried fusing some myslef.. no go.
What am I doing wrong?
or - if some one could please share a minimal, barebone code step,
that I could build on.. would be appreciated.

My last attempt -
(Running from SOME.PATH.JCL(iebdgjob)

//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=IEBDG
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//OUTLBL DD DSNAME=SOME.PATH.TEST(TSTDTA01),
// DISP=(,KEEP),SPACE=(TRK,(10,10,5)),
// DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=800)
//SYSIN DD DATA
DSD OUTPUT=(OUTLBL)
FD NAME=A,LENGTH=6,FORMAT=ZD,INDEX=1
FD NAME=B,LENGTH=74,FORMAT=AL,ACTION=RP
CREATE QUANTITY=100,NAME=(A,B)
END
/*
RazVorox
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2022 11:52 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

Postby Robert Sample » Tue Dec 13, 2022 8:10 pm

First, learn to use the Code button. It preserves spaces so we can see if you have a basic formatting error such as putting the utility control commands in column 1.

Second, try to create a sequential data set instead of a PDS member. I tried your control statements against a sequential data set and had no issues. When I then tried your control statements against a PDS, I got errors. You may want to review https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/zos/2.5.0?t ... et-members for how IBM did a PDS. And note that their example is CREATING a PDS, not using an existing PDS. That could make a big difference.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

Postby willy jensen » Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:18 pm

I tried the job shown, with 2 changes:

DISP=(,CATLG) instead of DISP=(,KEEP)
Shifted the input data to start in column 2

and it worked perfectly.
willy jensen
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

Postby willy jensen » Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:22 pm

The message WAITING FOR DATA SETS would indicate that the dataset already exist and is in use. Could it be that you really mean
//OUTLBL DD DSNAME=SOME.PATH.TEST(TSTDTA01),DISP=SHR

DISP=(,KEEP) is in any case not good, though of course it might be changed to CATLG by SMS.
willy jensen
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 69 times

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

Postby sergeyken » Tue Dec 13, 2022 10:13 pm

1) Learn how to use the Code button when posting your messages!!!!!!!

2) Please provide ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION:
- Properly formatted code
- Properly formatted input/output data (if any)
- ALL AND EVERY ERROR MESSAGE, exactly as it appeared when running your code


The forum members should not guess what is happening at your side of the world.
Javas and Pythons come and go, but JCL and SORT stay forever.
User avatar
sergeyken
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:12 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 40 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post