Page 1 of 1

IEBDG Basics Error

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2022 7:28 pm
by RazVorox
hi all.
I'm trying to generate some data mbrs' using IEBDG.
Bottom line, no matter what I try, I end up with either a JCL Err,
or worse - with an active stuck job that is "WAITING FOR DATA SETS"

I've been through google, read the manual, tried the ibm sample code example,
Tried fusing some myslef.. no go.
What am I doing wrong?
or - if some one could please share a minimal, barebone code step,
that I could build on.. would be appreciated.

My last attempt -
(Running from SOME.PATH.JCL(iebdgjob)

//STEP0001 EXEC PGM=IEBDG
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//OUTLBL DD DSNAME=SOME.PATH.TEST(TSTDTA01),
// DISP=(,KEEP),SPACE=(TRK,(10,10,5)),
// DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=800)
//SYSIN DD DATA
DSD OUTPUT=(OUTLBL)
FD NAME=A,LENGTH=6,FORMAT=ZD,INDEX=1
FD NAME=B,LENGTH=74,FORMAT=AL,ACTION=RP
CREATE QUANTITY=100,NAME=(A,B)
END
/*

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2022 8:10 pm
by Robert Sample
First, learn to use the Code button. It preserves spaces so we can see if you have a basic formatting error such as putting the utility control commands in column 1.

Second, try to create a sequential data set instead of a PDS member. I tried your control statements against a sequential data set and had no issues. When I then tried your control statements against a PDS, I got errors. You may want to review https://www.ibm.com/docs/en/zos/2.5.0?t ... et-members for how IBM did a PDS. And note that their example is CREATING a PDS, not using an existing PDS. That could make a big difference.

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:18 pm
by willy jensen
I tried the job shown, with 2 changes:

DISP=(,CATLG) instead of DISP=(,KEEP)
Shifted the input data to start in column 2

and it worked perfectly.

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2022 9:22 pm
by willy jensen
The message WAITING FOR DATA SETS would indicate that the dataset already exist and is in use. Could it be that you really mean
//OUTLBL DD DSNAME=SOME.PATH.TEST(TSTDTA01),DISP=SHR

DISP=(,KEEP) is in any case not good, though of course it might be changed to CATLG by SMS.

Re: IEBDG Basics Error

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2022 10:13 pm
by sergeyken
1) Learn how to use the Code button when posting your messages!!!!!!!

2) Please provide ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION:
- Properly formatted code
- Properly formatted input/output data (if any)
- ALL AND EVERY ERROR MESSAGE, exactly as it appeared when running your code


The forum members should not guess what is happening at your side of the world.