Page 1 of 2

Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 6:52 pm
by satishmf
I have 4 steps.
step01 step02 step03 step04

I would like to restart the job from step03 and execute only step03.

please let me know the syntax.

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 7:05 pm
by MrSpock
The syntax for what? What is the process you need to follow to accomplish this? Normally, you'd edit the JCL and make the necessary changes, then submit it. Or, this is usually handled from within the job scheduling system.

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 4:34 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

If the job executes a PROCedure, you could submit the job with a restart in step3 and add a condition code check for (0,LE).

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:40 am
by satishmf
What is the need for adding condition code (0,LE) in the restart step.
Please let me know what does it check for?

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:29 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

What is the need for adding condition code (0,LE) in the restart step.
This is to prevent step4 from running.

Look here:
http://publibz.boulder.ibm.com/cgi-bin/ ... 680/16.5.5?

A good manual to bookmark. . . Clicking on the little "open book" on the top left of that page will go to the Table of Contents.

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:25 pm
by satishmf
Please let me know if Step03 is to be coded immediately after Jobcard or can it be anywhere in the JCL?

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:04 pm
by expat
Please READ the manual suggested by Dick, try some things yourself, and let us help with any problems

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 4:09 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

In the linked manual, you want to read about RESTART.

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 7:58 pm
by Bill Dennis
Also, utility program IEBEDIT can be used to select certain step(s) from a jobstream for submit. Read about it in DFSMSdfp Utilities or do a search.

Re: Restart job from particular step

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:55 pm
by Anuj Dhawan
Or for a nasty experiment, "label the code" you want to execute from the JCL,(such .A and .B) and at command pompt type:
SUB .A .B
.