JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby PDelcroix » Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:29 pm

Hi,

I need to write a small job to send data to Infoprint printer.
So far I have managed to read a file and send the formatted data to the printer.

Now I need to print data objects (*.tif, *.gif, *.jpeg, ..).
I have installed the data objects in a resource library using AFP Resource Installer.
In the Printer’s profile I have added the path where to find these resources.

Now I have read 10 times the PPFA manual at the chapters where their talk about CMR, DATA OBJECTS,… The examples they show only explain the topics they are dealing at this point.
Ex
“DEFINE cmrX12 CMRNAME ‘@blablabla’
CMR bm1 PRINTFILE INSTR;
COPYGROUP cg2:
CMR jm4 INSTR;
“

That doesn’t tell me how to actually print the DATA OBJETC.

I have sent similar post in another forum a few months ago. My question was read 10ths time, but never answered. Nobody asked me what I mean or to be more specific.

All I need is to get an object (a *.tif file) and send it to the printer.
I am not a main frame programmer, but I need to write simple jobs to test my printer.

Can anybody help?

Thanks you.
PDelcroix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:15 pm

Hello and welcome to the forum,

If you post the jcl you are trying to use, it may help someone help you.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby PDelcroix » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:29 pm

Thanks for coming back to me, Dick.
You’ve got a valid point there.

Since I posted my message, I went to the IBM site and found a tutorial on JCL and finally try and run a job. It still didn’t work.

Here is how our system is set-up:


1. PSF V4R2 is installed in our mainframe.

2. Line added in PSF400.USER.PROCLIB(APSE206)

000034 //*
000035 //DATOBJ DD PATH='/usr/lpp/Printsrv/InfoprintCentral/DataObjects/'
000036 //*

This path links where I have installed my objects and the .RAT.


3. And now for my job:

//TESTOBJ JOB 'JOB TESTOBJ',MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=A,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=AKQPPFA,REGION=1M
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//FORMLIB DD DSN=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB,DISP=SHR
//PAGELIB DD DSN=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *


FORMDEF OVLMAT
N_UP 1
PRESENT PORTRAIT
DIRECTION ACROSS
DUPLEX NO
OFFSET 0 0
REPLACE YES;
SETUNITS 1 MM 1 MM;
PAGEDEF OVLMAT
WIDTH 8.2 IN
HEIGHT 11 IN
DIRECTION ACROSS
REPLACE YES;
FONT HEAD CS H400 CP V10037 HEIGHT 25 ;
FONT F1 CS H400 CP V10037 HEIGHT 10 ;

SETUNITS LINESP 1.3 LPI;

DEFINE obres1 CMRNAME 'IBM_ROSE' ;
CMR obres1 PRINTFILE audit;

OBJECT obxres1 OBXNAME xpseg23 OBTYPE OTHER OBIB JFIF
OBRESOLUTION 300 300 IN;

PRINTLINE OBJECT obxres1
23 pels 01 pels obmAP TRIM OBSIZE 1.2 in 1.3 in;

//TESTOBJ JOB 'JOB TESTOBJ',MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=A,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//PRINT OUTPUT FORMDEF=OVLMAT,PAGEDEF=OVLMAT,OUTDISP=KEEP,
// USERLIB=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=P390V.TESTTEXT,DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD SYSOUT=Y,OUTPUT=*.PRINT


4. When I submit this job, I get the following errors

26
PAGE PRINTER FORMATTING AID/390(PK38127) DATE 0
DIAGNOSTIC MESSAGE LIST
CODE LINE DESCRIPTION
AKQ103E 17 INVALID SUBCOMMAND CMRNAME IS SPECIFIED.
AKQ102E 19 INVALID COMMAND CMR IS SPECIFIED.
AKQ103E 21 INVALID SUBCOMMAND OBIB IS SPECIFIED.
AKQ323E PAGEDEF P1OVLMAT IS NOT GENERATED. MAX RETURN CODE = 8.
AKQ301I PAGE PRINTER FORMATTING AID ENDED, MAX RETURN CODE = 8.
******************************** BOTTOM OF DATA ********************************


This means that my library isn’t activated. I have contacted the person who is in charge of our main frame and I am now waiting for his feedback. Unless someone knows how to do that and is prepared to explain it to me.


That doesn’t mean my job is correct. That will be my next step.
PDelcroix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby dick scherrer » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:58 pm

Hello,

Was a validation job part of the product installation? Did the mainframe support people run the validation to ensure the product was successfully/completely installed and configured?

Good luck :)
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby PDelcroix » Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:06 pm

Thanks Dick,

I don't think the support person is a programmer and he knew how to run such a job.
But he is a nice person and I am sure he'll get my library right.
As far as the programming side is concerned, I don't know how many firms are using DATA OBJECT, CMRs, ...
I have asked help from different horizons, and this forum was one of my last chance,

Anyway, as soon as our support person will be back I will perform more trials.

Thanks for your help

Philippe
PDelcroix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby Anuj Dhawan » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:25 pm

There are lots of site specific things in your post and as far as I could understand:

1. You are dealing with AFP (Advance funtion Printing).
2. You are generating new FORMDEFs and PAGEDEFs.
3. You get many errors after execution of that JCL: AKQ103E usually comes when an invalid subcommand was specified in the input data. Often issued when a semicolon (;) is missing.

Other errors are a follow-on of this.

Suggest before you attempt to issue a print, your printer libraries should pick-up the new definitions of FORMDEFs and PAGEDEFs. At my shop -- I need to ask the printer-personnel to restart the printer whenever we make such changes, may be you can try that.
Anuj
Anuj Dhawan
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:53 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby Anuj Dhawan » Tue Sep 22, 2009 5:30 pm

... but I need to write simple jobs to test my printer.
Please have a look on below links, they may be helpful:

1. Appendix A. Stapling FORMDEFs.
2. Sample FORMDEF.
3. PPFA Messages and Their Meanings.

Just browse through the first link; with second link you should spend some time and third link will give you the explanation of every error you can ever get in dealing with PPFA.

Good Luck... :)
Anuj
Anuj Dhawan
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 3:53 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby PDelcroix » Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:36 pm

Ok,

I got it to work. (We had to install new stuff, included the latest PPFA...)

//TESTOB0 JOB 'JOB TESTOBJ',MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=A,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=AKQPPFA,REGION=1M
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//FORMLIB DD DSN=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB,DISP=SHR
//PAGELIB DD DSN=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *

FORMDEF OVLMAT
N_UP 1
PRESENT PORTRAIT
DIRECTION ACROSS
DUPLEX NO
OFFSET 0 0
REPLACE YES;
SETUNITS 1 MM 1 MM;

PAGEDEF OVLMAT
WIDTH 8.2 IN
HEIGHT 11 IN
DIRECTION ACROSS
REPLACE YES;
FONT HEAD CS H400 CP V10037 HEIGHT 25 ;

OBJECT obxres1 OBXNAME SPRINGBOK
OBTYPE OTHER OBID JFIF;

PRINTLINE POSITION 1 IN 1 IN OBJECT obxres1 1 10
OBMAP TRIM;

//TESTOB0 JOB 'JOB TESTOBJ',MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=A,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//PRINT OUTPUT FORMDEF=OVLMAT,PAGEDEF=OVLMAT,OUTDISP=KEEP,
// USERLIB=P390V.PHIL.AFPLIB,
// USERPATH='/usr/lpp/Printsrv/InfoprintCentral/DataObjects'
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=TC.PDX.DAT(DTAOBJ),DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD SYSOUT=Y,OUTPUT=*.PRINT


I had to create a file , TC.PDX.DAT(DTAOBJ), because IEBGENER needs a SYSUT1 as input.
In this file I just have a title text. ("example of object")

Now I want to play a bit with this job. (change the orientation, size, ...),
but I don't want the text. (I don't want the SYSUT1).
I only need my picture.

How can I do that ?

Thank you
PDelcroix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby dick scherrer » Fri Dec 04, 2009 7:16 am

Hello,

You might try pointing sysut1 at an empty dataset. . .?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: JCL and DATA OBJECT: any samples jobs ?

Postby PDelcroix » Mon Dec 07, 2009 3:19 pm

Thanks for your suggestion Dick, but when I tried with an empty file, it doesn't generate any output. (I've got no error).
If i replace the contents of my data file with spaces, I get the same result. (no output generated)

Thanks for your help anyway: that was worth a trial.
PDelcroix
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 2:05 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post