Page 1 of 1

related to NDM transmission

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:26 am
by kumar_ind
Dear Friends,

Let me give some background of my situation.
We are using a JCL that transmits files from Production to Development env. via NDM.
However we couldn't able to transmit the files having huge volume of data by using this JCL. There is a difference in the RECL between Prod and Dev env's.
But the same can be achieved by using NDM screen.

For your reference, I am providing the JCL and the copybook used in it.
JCL:
***************************** Top of Data ***************************
//ABCDEF JOB (1234,123),'Z1 - AREA1',CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=X,
// NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//*****************************************************************
//* CHANGE HISTORY : NDM THE UNLOADS FROM PROD *
//*****************************************************************
//SFMS0010 EXEC PGM=DMBATCH,REGION=512K,PARM=(YYLLYNN)
//DMNETMAP DD DSN=NDMP.C.P.NDM.NETMAP,
// DISP=SHR
//DMPUBLIB DD DSN=FDWT.PROD.NDMCARDS,
// DISP=SHR
//DMMSGFIL DD DSN=NDMP.C.P.NDM.MSG,
// DISP=SHR
//DMPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//NDMCMDS DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DSN=ABC.XYZ.JKL(ABCDEF),
//*
//*
***********************************************************************

Copybook:
ABC.XYZ.JKL(ABCDEF)
***************************** Top of Data **************
SIGNON NODE=NDMPROD USERID=(PARM) ESF=YES
SUBMIT PROC=NDMFDW -
&FROMNODE=NDMPROD -
&TONODE=NDMDEVL -
&DSN1I=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0601.D100813 -
&DSN1O=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0601.D100813 -
&DSN2I=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0602.D100813 -
&DSN2O=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0602.D100813 -
&DSN3I=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0603.D100813 -
&DSN3O=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0603.D100813 -
&DSN4I=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0604.D100813 -
&DSN4O=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0614.D100813 -
&DSN5I=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0605.D100813 -
&DSN5O=FDWT.QTR32010.UNTB0605.D100813
SUBMIT PROC=NDMFDW -
&FROMNODE=NDMPROD -
&TONODE=NDMDEVL -
********************************************************************************

My interest is,can we include a STEP in JCL to increase the RECL of the files being transmitted? Otherwise please let me know if you have any suggestions.
Many Thanks!

Regards,
Kumar.

Re: related to NDM transmission

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:52 am
by NicC
can we include a STEP in JCL to increase the RECL


Of course you can and there are various utilities that will do this for you - sort, IEBGENER for example.

But why are the LRECLs different between prod and test? Unless it is a newer version of the current prod then surely you need the same LRECL?

Re: related to NDM transmission

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:49 pm
by kumar_ind
Hi Nic,
Thanks for the reply.

"But why are the LRECLs different between prod and test? Unless it is a newer version of the current prod then surely you need the same LRECL?"

Yes,it's a newer version of the current prod. We couldn't able to transmit the large volume files properly by using JCL.
Is there any recommendation from your side to over come this crisis? Many Thanks!

Regards,
Kumar

Re: related to NDM transmission

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:34 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

So far, your topic is quite confusing. . .

What does a new lrecl have to do with "large volume files"?

Why are you not able to transmit this new data? Posting "it didn't work" is a total waste of everyone's time. If you want help, you have to post what the problem is. Did some abend occur? Some diagnostic error? Unexpected results?

Why does someone believe that the "new" format data can be used by the "old" envronment?

Re: related to NDM transmission

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 11:18 pm
by NicC
If your files are too big - probably not - then extract a subset of records and transmit those. You shouldn't really be testing qith live data, not even a copy of it, for security reasons.

You presumably have to run a job to convert these files to the new LRECL so why not change it to do the extract, add the extra bytes and disguise the sensitive parts of the data?