Page 1 of 1

JCL PROC Override

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:23 pm
by raghav08
Hi,

If my JCl has the following statements

//BKC5U06C EXEC PROC=IMDLIBCH
//IEFRDER  DD DSNAME=PRD22.BKC5.IMSLT.BKC5UC06(+1),
//           DISP=(NEW,CATLG,CATLG),
//            UNIT=CTPE,LABEL=EXPDT=99000


And my PROC

//IMDLIBCH PROC
//STEP01 EXEC PGM=DFSRRC00
:
//IEFRDER  DD DSN=PRD02.BSKC.OUT,DISP=(,KEEP)
:


How the above PROC override will work without STEPNAME.DDNAME concept?

Thanks.

Re: JCL PROC Override

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:41 pm
by NicC
As per the JCL manual - the override will be applied to the first step, or if there is another override for a particular step preceding your override then it will be applied to that step e.g.
//STEP2.SOMENAME DD ....
//YOURNAME DD ....

The YOURAME override will be applied to STEP2.

Of course, you could have found this out by yourself in less time than it take to post the question just by trying it out. Use TYPRUN=SCAN to prevent the job actually executing - all the JCL substitution is done before the job executes.

Re: JCL PROC Override

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:41 pm
by raghav08
Thanks for your reply.

The same procedure called again with following override (no DSN name)- Whats the use of this override statement(no DSN)?

//BKC5U06C EXEC PROC=IMDLIBCH
//STEP01.IEFRDER DD SPACE=(8192,(90000,99999)),UNIT=CTPE,
//                LABEL=EXPDT=99000,DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE)


Thanks.

Re: JCL PROC Override

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:44 pm
by NicC
Do you know what override means? Suggest you do as I suggested: 1) read the JCL Users Guide, 2) run the job using TYPRUN=SCAN