Page 1 of 1

OVERRIDING PARM Parameter from JCL

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 4:19 am
by fornanthakumar
Hi,

I have coded JCL like below which calls the PROC NEWWREXX

//CHN0XJCL JOB ...
// JCLLIB ORDER=CHN0.SDSF.APPS                   
//EXECREXX EXEC NEWWREXX


NEWWREXX PROC coded like below (Which is executing another PROC REXXEXE1)

//NEWWREXX PROC
//REXXEXEC EXEC REXXEXE1


REXXEXE1 coded like below

//REXXEXE1 PROC
//REX01#06 EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01,DYNAMNBR=20,PARM='NEWREXX'


Now, I wanted change this PARM='NEWREXX' to PARM='UPDREXX'. I should overwrite this PARM value from JCL and should not edit above two PROC. Is that possible?
I have tried with:

PARM.REX01#06='UPDREXX' --> its is fine for first level PROC but in my case i have two level PROC.

Please help me out on this.

PS: I have posted the sample code here instead of Production code. The reason for calling the second level PROC is, Its a common PROC will process the DATA wise information. The first level PROC will extract the data from DB2 and call the second level PROC for processing.

Re: OVERRIDING PARM Parameter from JCL

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:57 pm
by expat
Multi layer PRCS should only be used by people who know what they are doing when they construct PROCS for inclusion by other PROCS.

They can be real pigs to override and/or restart.

Re: OVERRIDING PARM Parameter from JCL

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:44 pm
by prino
It's much better to use INCLUDE MEMBER=XXXXXX, when IBM allowed nested proc's they never really thought about the consequences...