Performance tuning JCL (Query)



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Performance tuning JCL (Query)

Postby dibjot » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:42 pm

Hi
My requirement was to invoke a java class using a JCL. The java class is fed data from a table. I used BPXBATCH utility to invoke the unix script which then calls the java class.
Now here is my question. I created 4 JCLs and 4 corresponding unix scripts. Each unix script inputs 1/4 of the entire data into the class. the 4 JCLs run in parallel. The purpose of doing this was to share the load among the 4 JCLs. However, when I see the results of the performance tests, it shows that out of all 4 only one has almost 99% of the CPU usage. Rest 3 have minimal to no CPU usage. I am not sure how and why this is happening. The 4 JCLs are executed independently, but simultaneously (or sometimes with a gap of 1/2 to 1 minute.) Each JCL feeds 1/4 of the entire data to the unix script which then goes to the java class. Each JCL however, calls the same class.
dibjot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Performance tuning JCL (Query)

Postby BillyBoyo » Sun May 01, 2011 4:30 am

Is it the same job each time that is using most of the CPU?

How much CPU are we talking about? How much data?

How is the data divided into quarters?

Do you have counts to confirm that each is processing 1/4 of data?
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: Performance tuning JCL (Query)

Postby NicC » Sun May 01, 2011 11:28 am

Is each job writing to the same output file? If so then they can only run one at a time.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Performance tuning JCL (Query)

Postby dibjot » Tue May 03, 2011 10:35 am

No, each job is writing a separate output file.
It is not the same job every time. Each time, one of the four jobs shows maximum CPU utilization.
There are a total of 250.000 records to be processed. This is then divided among 4 tables equally (62500 each)
Each of the 4 jobs then picks up data from their respective tables. All of them run in parallel or with a delayed start of 1-2 mins.
However, everytime one of the 4 shows maximum CPU utilization while others show negligible.

Thanks !
dibjot
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post