RC=8 Copying members from pds to another



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

Postby xboss » Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:44 am

Return code = 8 while trying to copy some members from one pds to another, below is my JCL and Output
 //xxxxxxxx JOB (TST),'xxxxx/s',CLASS=5,MSGCLASS=X,                 
 //             NOTIFY=&SYSUID                                         
 //STEPNAME EXEC PGM=IEBCOPY,REGION=4M                                 
 /*JOBPARM SYSAFF=*,LINES=99                                           
 //SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                                 
 //SYSUT1   DD DSN=INPUT.DSN,DISP=SHR                     
 //SYSUT2   DD DSN=OUTPUT.DSN,DISP=SHR                                                                 
 //SYSUT3   DD UNIT=VIO,SPACE=(CYL,(10))                               
 //SYSUT4   DD UNIT=VIO,SPACE=(CYL,(10))                               
 //SYSIN    DD *                                                       
   COPYMOD INDD=SYSUT1,OUTDD=SYSUT2                                     
   SELECT MEMBER=(MEMBER1,MEMBER2,MEMBER3,MEMBER4,MEMBER5)
 /*                                                                     


Output

FCO100I PDSMAN FASTCOPY PROCESSING ACTIVE     08/02/2011   15:11:29  JOBNAME XXXXXXXX
FCO105I   COPYMOD INDD=SYSUT1,OUTDD=SYSUT2                                     
FCO105I   SELECT MEMBER=(MEMBER1,MEMBER2,MEMBER3,MEMBER4,MEMBER5)
FCO415A RECFM=U REQUIRED FOR COPYMOD OR ALTERMOD                               
FCO419A OPERATION TERMINATED                                                   
FCO210U STORAGE        0K ALLOC     0K USED                                   


Help me out....
xboss
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:55 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:50 am

Hello,

Help me out....
Probably lucky i got here first - we don't do demands so well . . . :(


It appears that IEBCOPY is being replaced by PDSMAN/FASTCOPY.

The recfm=u message seems quite clear. . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: copying members from pds

Postby steve-myers » Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:57 am

The FCO415A message tells you your real problem. The COPYMOD command is only for load modules in a PDS, which must be defined as RECFM=U. An argument can be made the program should have reverted to a COPY command and done your copy, but it didn't. I do hope both the source and target datasets are compatible with each other!
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:01 am

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the clarification :)

d
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: RC=8 Copying members from pds to another

Postby xboss » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:15 am

Thanks Dick and Steve. I got it.
xboss
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 10:55 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post