Page 1 of 3

IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 6:52 pm
by gowthamgyaa
Hi everyone,
I need your guidance in clearing the following error which shown while executing a IEHPROG, I ll provide you the JCL statements below,

//JOB STATEMENT
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEHPROGM
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD VOL=SER=ASMS04,UNIT=3390,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *
RENAME=*****.TECH.EMP,VOL=3390=ASMS04,
NEWNAME=*****.TECHIN.EMP
/*
//


It shows me the following error,
Info in the control statement not sufficient so program not called.


I kindly request you to debug this and guide me the same

Kind regard's
gyaa

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:03 pm
by Robert Sample
You did not use the Code tag on your statements so it is not possible to tell exactly which column your statements are in. However, this quote (emphasis added by me) from the DFSMSdfp Utilities manual in the DFSMS bookshelf is relevant (remember that IEHPROGM is a very old utility and hence the continuation requirements are strict):
1.4.2.1 Continuing Utility Control Statements

Utility control statements are contained in columns 1 through 71. A statement that exceeds 71 characters must be continued on one or more additional records. A nonblank character must be placed in column 72 to indicate continuation.
Exception: Some utilities allow exceptions to this rule. In those cases, a utility statement can be interrupted either in column 71 or after any comma.

The continued portion of the utility control statement must begin in column 16 of the following record.

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:16 pm
by gowthamgyaa
@Robert
Thank you very much for your kind reply.
Terribly sorry robert i just mistyped from the first column, actually in my JCL Statement i did it from col 4 but got the same error which i mentiond above.


//JOB STATEMENT
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=IEHPROGM
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD VOL=SER=ASMS04,UNIT=3390,DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD *
      RENAME=*****.TECH.EMP,VOL=3390=ASMS04,
      NEWNAME=*****.TECHIN.EMP
/*
//
I request you to debug me in this case. Sorry robert i am unable to provide snap's to you.

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:18 pm
by Akatsukami
Unless you have been explicitly tasked to use IEHPROGM as a classroom assignment, I strongly recommend the use of IDCAMS instead (it is much newer and, IMNSHO, better than the cranky old IEH utilitites). The JCL and control cards for this task are:
//STEP10   EXEC PGM=IDCAMS 
//SYSPRINT DD   SYSOUT=*   
//SYSIN    DD   *           
  ALTER hlq.TECH.EMP -     
    NEWNAME(hlq.TECHIN.EMP)

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:23 pm
by NicC
USE THE CODE TAGS as requested. They give your data a cyan on black look like Akatsukami's post. Do not use the Quick Reply button but the Post Reply button. And you have ignored Robert's advice and posting on the requirements for continuation. If you cannot be bothered to read what is posted and act on it why should we bother assisting?
I have coded your data and as you can see the spaces have magically reappeared in front of your control cards.

I aslo suggest that you debug it yourself otherwise you will never learn. And what do you mean by "snap's"?

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:33 pm
by gowthamgyaa
@akatsukami
Thank you very much for your kind reply. I'l try it with what you said


Kind regard's
gyaa

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:44 pm
by gowthamgyaa
[quote="NicC"] And you have ignored Robert's advice and posting on the requirements for continuation. If you cannot be bothered to read what is posted and act on it why should we bother assisting?
@Nicc,
I am not ignoring anyone's advice here, As am a Beginner am following each & everyone's post here and implementing it, even today I did what you guided me in TSO/ISPF section yesterday. As you told i have to debug myself, I tried to debug it but I need more efforts to do it ,so am Posting here to get knowledge from the experts.

In the guidelines of Roberts , he told two more errors in that statement. So I replied him to debug my error's so that I would get a better knowledge in that.
I do no the reason behind your firing lines on me in the last post. Snap's i mentioned it for the Image which am unable to provide.


kind regard's
gyaa

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:48 pm
by NicC
Show me the non-blank character in column 72 as Robert mentioned.

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:01 pm
by gowthamgyaa
@Nicc,
I dont see my statement's exceeding 70 column's.
I just denoted a comma for continuation in the control card.
If any mistake kindly Pardon me & guide for the same.


Kind regard's
gyaa

Re: IEH progm control card error

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2012 8:11 pm
by NicC
You have just stated yourself that you are continuing a statement onto another line. As the manual says - as per Robert's post - you have to put a non-blank character in column 72 to continue a statement. A trailing comma is NOT a sign of continuation.