What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby chan » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:24 pm

I followed this basic tutorial from youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uv7ThVwb7m8
Unfortunately, I kept getting return code maxcc(12) which was obviously an error. What I have noticed is that on my system. The following data set doesn't not exists "DSN=IGY340.SIGYCOMP", but I really don't know to fix it.
Here is my COBOL program:
PROG1
Image
and JCL
JOB2
Image

And here is the error message,
Image

So how can I fix this error? Any idea?
chan
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:00 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby BillyBoyo » Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:41 pm

You should be using the standard compile JCL for your system. If you don't know what that is/where to find it, talk to your colleagues, team-lead, tutor, mentor, technical support people. They know, or know how to find out at your site, we don't.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby Akatsukami » Wed Dec 19, 2012 5:25 pm

The fine manual states:
Using the entire IGY.V4R1M0.SIGYCOMP data set as a STEPLIB or JOBLIB defeats the purpose of placing the modules in the LPA because modules are loaded from a STEPLIB or JOBLIB before the LPA is searched.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby toughhou » Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:54 pm

Hi chan,

Here seems you want to specify a steplib for IGYWCLG, but I think you shouldn't add "COBOL." before STEPLIB.
When specify steplib for your step, the step will try to find IGYWCLG to execute in your steplib. If can't find the IGYWCLG, then it will try to search IGYWCLG in SYS1.LINKLIB.

Here I suggest you the code like below:

Method1 (let the program use the IGYWCLG in IGY340.SIGYCOMP):
//STEP1 EXEC IGYWCLG,REGION=250M
//STEPLIB DD DISP=SHR,DSN=IGY340.SIGYCOMP

Method2 (let the program use the IGYWCLG in SYS1.LINKLIB):
//STEP1 EXEC IGYWCLG,REGION=250M
Don't go too far to forget why we start.
toughhou
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:17 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby BillyBoyo » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:04 pm

IGYWCLG is a PROC, not a program. The system is not going to find a PROC in any loadlibrary.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:41 pm

refrain from posting screen shots, it is a useless waste of resources
( a plain TEXT cut and paste and the CODE tags work well enough )

the info provided tells nothing about the error, just that it happened
look at the output to find out what happened

ask Your support about the procedures to be used for program <preparation>
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby toughhou » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:45 pm

Hi,

BillyBoyo, Thanks for your correction. It's correct that IGYWCLG is a procedure.
Then we can specify the jcllib for the proc IGYWCLG. I think IGYWCLG is a system proc. It should be found in syslib (SYS1.PROCLIB). Or you can try below:

//TOUGH01 JOB ....
//MYLIB JCLLIB ORDER=SYS1.PROCLIB
//STEP1 EXEC IGYWCLG,REGION=250M

It will find the IGYWCLG in SYS1.PROCLIB, or you can contact your admin to make sure where the IGYWCLG locates. Then specify the path in JCLLIB.
Don't go too far to forget why we start.
toughhou
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:17 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby Robert Sample » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:54 pm

toughhou, actually you are wrong. The COBOL compiler procedures are located in a library called IGY.SIGYPROC (or some variation thereof -- the actual name will depend upon the individual site as the name can be different for each site). It would be unusual for a site to place the COBOL compile procedures in SYS1.PROCLIB since this library is typically replaced with an operating system upgrade and hence the COBOL compile procedures would have to be added after every operating system upgrade. JES allows for multiple procedure libraries, and it would be more common for the COBOL compile procedure library to be placed in JES instead of SYS1.PROCLIB.
Robert Sample
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3719
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 8:32 pm
Location: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 279 times

Re: What's wrong with this COBOL/JCL program?

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:57 pm

Hello,

There is no reason to search for "things" like this. They are (or surely should be) standard on the system.

All that should be necessary is to find another COBOL compile that works successfully and use the same process.

Or talk with the people who support the compiler(s), linkers, etc.

One should Not create/customize their own. . .
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post