JCL using SYSLIN (Could also be an Assembler problem)



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

JCL using SYSLIN (Could also be an Assembler problem)

Postby cb2we6l » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:16 am

Hi,

today I tried to install a 30 year old scheduler (SCHEDRUN):

http://www.colesoft.com/downloads/

on z/OS 2.1 (LPAR and "my" zPDT).

I have attached the content of the XMIT file as a ZIP file. There you can find the rest of the Code and a README.

One of the steps (described in README) is this JCL:

//ASMSCHED JOB (CSW,UPS),'Phone: 540-456-8536',CLASS=A,MSGCLASS=D,      ASMSCHED
//             MSGLEVEL=(1,1),NOTIFY=R9999,TIME=1439                    00020000
//*                                                                     00030000
//ASM     EXEC PGM=ASMA90,REGION=0M,                                    00040000
//*                                                                     00050000
//***********************************************************           00060000
//* Note, you may prefer a LINECOUNT other than "109" for   *           00070000
//* the assembly.                                           *           00080000
//***********************************************************           00090000
// PARM=('ASA,OBJ,NODECK,LC(109),MX(FULL),RENT,FLAG(NOCONT)',           00100000
// 'NORLD,TERM,TEST,US(WARN(11)),XREF(SHORT)')                          00110000
//*                                                                     00120000
//SYSLIB   DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=DBCOLE.SCHEDRUN.EXPORT                      00130000
//         DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.MACLIB                                 00140000
//         DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.MODGEN                                 00150000
//*                                                                     00160000
//SYSTERM  DD  SYSOUT=*                                                 00170000
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*                                                 00180000
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&OBJSET,UNIT=DISK,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1),RLSE),           00190000
//             DISP=(MOD,PASS)                                          00200000
//SYSIN    DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=DBCOLE.SCHEDRUN.EXPORT(SCHEDULE)            00210000
//*                                                                     00220000
//*                                                                     00230000
//*                                                                     00240000
//LKED    EXEC PGM=IEWL,REGION=0M,                                      00250000
//             PARM=(TEST,XREF,LET,LIST,RENT),                          00260000
//             COND=(0,LT)                                              00270000
//*                                                                     00280000
//SYSLIB   DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=DBCOLE.SCHEDRUN.EXPORT                      00290000
//SYSLMOD  DD  DISP=SHR,DSN=DBCOLE.LOAD                                 00300000
//SYSUT1   DD  UNIT=DISK,SPACE=(CYL,(15,5))                             00310000
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=*                                                 00320000
//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&OBJSET,DISP=(OLD,DELETE)                           00330000
//         DD  *                                                        00340000
         INCLUDE SYSLIB(OBJFGSAM)                                       00350000
         ALIAS   SCHED                                                  00360000
         NAME    SCHEDULE(R)            


but there is something wrong with this defintion:

//SYSLIN   DD  DSN=&&OBJSET,UNIT=DISK,SPACE=(CYL,(1,1),RLSE),           00190000
//             DISP=(MOD,PASS)


and the Job fails:

IEF210I ASMSCHED ASM SYSLIN - UNIT FIELD SPECIFIES INCORRECT DEVICE NAME
IEF272I ASMSCHED ASM - STEP WAS NOT EXECUTED.                            


I remember, that I had the same problem with some old code for OS/370:

http://cbttape.org/~jmorrison/s370asm/h ... s-001.html

after moving from IFOX00 to ASMA90.

As far as I remember it was a missing/wrong statement in the JCL, but I'm not sure. Is there an obviuos JCL error, or is this an Assembler (ASMA90) problem?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cb2we6l
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:42 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: JCL using SYSLIN (Could also be an Assembler problem)

Postby steve-myers » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:58 am

When a system programmer prepares the I/O definitions for the system, he can assign unit names (such as DISK) that will be used for the system and the devices that can be associated with the name. Evidently unit name DISK does not exist in this system, and (I'm guessing) SMS is not active - SMS usurps unit names. I would suggest you use SYSDA, which is almost always specified.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: JCL using SYSLIN (Could also be an Assembler problem)

Postby cb2we6l » Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:28 am

Steve,

thank you! "SYSDA" was the solution.

I will have a closer look at this.
cb2we6l
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:42 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post