Beginner needs help, invalid label.



JES, JES2, JCL utilities, IDCAMS, Compile & Run JCLs, PROCs etc...

Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby MeatHaven » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:27 am

When checking the output I get
6 IEFC662I INVALID LABEL
line 6 is this
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
MeatHaven
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:50 am

the statement as posted looks correct,
most probably the error is due to the previous statement.

and please use the code tags ( they used a fixed pith font, and make things more readable for code, jcl, sysout, data
see
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby MeatHaven » Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:06 am

Thanks, this is the lines after and before
Line before

Line after
//SORTIN   DD   *
MeatHaven
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby MeatHaven » Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:52 am

MeatHaven wrote:When checking the output I get
6 IEFC662I INVALID LABEL
line 6 is this
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*

Sorry, its occurring the line before this.
Of which is just a delimiter statement.
MeatHaven
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby Akatsukami » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:14 am

I would browse or edit the JCL with HEX ON; it is possible that you have a non-displayable character in the name field that is causing this error.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby MeatHaven » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:26 am

Appears not, I'm just gonna send what I have so far. (This is me just testing right now)
//JOBNAME1 JOB 1,NOTIFY=&SYSUID,
//        MSGCLASS=H,CLASS=J  ,MSGLEVEL=(1,1)
//SORTPGM  EXEC  PGM=SORT
//SYSIN    DD  *
    SORT     FIELDS=(24,4,CH,A)
/*
//SYSOUT   DD  SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN   DD  * 

Then I have some names down and at the end is;
/*
//SORT%OUT  DD  SYSOUT=*
/*
MeatHaven
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby Akatsukami » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:39 am

//SORT%OUT  DD  SYSOUT=*

Well, the percent sign is certainly invalid!

As to why the message is assigned to the wrong line, I'd have to see the JES JCL listing to do more than guess wildly.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby MeatHaven » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:47 am

Akatsukami wrote:
//SORT%OUT  DD  SYSOUT=*

Well, the percent sign is certainly invalid!

As to why the message is assigned to the wrong line, I'd have to see the JES JCL listing to do more than guess wildly.

Well that goes to show how far I still have to go. Anyways thanks for the help, can't believe I did that.
MeatHaven
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:27 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby NicC » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:05 pm

You only need a code tag at the start and end of block - not each line. I have fixed it up for you.
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Beginner needs help, invalid label.

Postby steve-myers » Wed Oct 09, 2013 3:28 pm

MeatHaven wrote:... Well that goes to show how far I still have to go. Anyways thanks for the help, can't believe I did that.
The JCL scanner often (more often than not, at least it seems to me, after 40+ years) reports the error on the wrong line. If you can't deduce your error where the scanner claims it found the error, backup a line or 2, and the odds are you'll find the real problem.
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times


Return to JCL

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post