Page 1 of 1

EDIT gives BROWSE error?!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:57 pm
by Steve Coalbran
I have run EDIT under ISPF in batch many times for many years.
I have never seen anything like this.
I have trimmed it to the essentials only, replacing my original macro (analysing the OUTDD listing of a ISRSUPC srchfor listing) with CANCEL.
It's a technique I have used successfully many times.
Here is the JCL generating and executing the REXX code...
//N472730T JOB (SJ,P),'SRCHFOR',CLASS=B,MSGCLASS=O,NOTIFY=&SYSUID      
/*JOBPARM  L=999                                                      
//*------- SYMBOLIC DISPS ---------------------------------------------
//         SET DEL='(MOD,DELETE),SPACE=(TRK,0)'                        
//         SET NCD='(NEW,CATLG,DELETE)'                                
//         SET NDD='(NEW,DELETE,DELETE)'                              
//         SET SPD='(SHR,PASS,DELETE)'                                
//*--------------------------------------------------------------------
//CLEANUP  EXEC PGM=IEFBR14                                            
//DEL001   DD DISP=&DEL,DSN=&SYSUID..TEMP.EXEC                        
//*--------------------------------------------------------------------
//PREALLOC EXEC PGM=IEFBR14                                            
//TMPEXEC  DD DISP=&NCD,DSN=&SYSUID..TEMP.EXEC,                        
//            LRECL=80,RECFM=FB,BLKSIZE=32720,SPACE=(TRK,(5,5,1))      
//*--------------------------------------------------------------------
//BATEDIT  EXEC PGM=ICEGENER                                          
//SYSUT2   DD DISP=SHR,DSN=&SYSUID..TEMP.EXEC(BATEDIT)                
//SYSIN    DD DUMMY                                                    
//SYSPRINT DD DUMMY                                                    
//SYSUT1   DD *                                                        
  /*REXX*/                                                            
  ARG dsn                                                              
  SAY "DSN="dsn                                                        
  TRACE "C"                                                            
  ADDRESS ISPEXEC "EDIT DATASET("dsn") MACRO(CANCEL) "                  
  SAY "RC="RC                                                          
   SAY zerrsm                                                          
  SAY zerrlm                                                          
  EXIT                                                                
//*--------------------------------------------------------------------
//DSNEXEC  EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01,                                          
//            PARM='ISPSTART CMD(BATEDIT TEMP.OUTDD)'                  
//SYSEXEC  DD DISP=SHR,DSN=&SYSUID..TEMP.EXEC                          
//ISPPLIB  DD DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.ISPPLIB                                
//ISPMLIB  DD DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.ISPMLIB                                
//ISPSLIB  DD DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.ISPSLIB                                
//ISPPROF  DD DISP=&NDD,UNIT=VIO,SPACE=(3120,(3,3,3)),                
//            DCB=SYS1.ISPTLIB                                        
//ISPTLIB  DD DISP=&SPD,DSN=*.ISPPROF,VOL=REF=*.ISPPROF                
//         DD DISP=SHR,DSN=SYS1.ISPTLIB                                
//ISPTABL  DD DISP=&SPD,DSN=*.ISPPROF,VOL=REF=*.ISPPROF                
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                                
//SYSTSIN  DD DUMMY                                                    
//*--------------------------------------------------------------------
//                                                                    
and here the SYSTSPRT...
********************************* TOP OF DATA **********************************
DSN=TEMP.OUTDD                                                
     5 *-* ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VIEW DATASET("dsn") MACRO(CANCEL) "
       >>>   "VIEW DATASET(TEMP.OUTDD) MACRO(CANCEL) "        
RC=0                                                          
INVALID SERVICE                                                
'BROWSE' service not supported in the batch environment.      
READY                                                          
END                                                            
******************************** BOTTOM OF DATA ********************************
As can be seen, the word BROWSE does not appear anywhere in the JCL or the REXX.
confused! :?

Re: EDIT gives BROWSE error?!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 6:36 pm
by NicC
HI Steve,

You know that sometimes when trying to edit in an online session you get the message 'blah blah BROWSE SUBSTITUTED', could this be one of those occasions but he blah blah bit missing?

Re: EDIT gives BROWSE error?!

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2016 11:07 pm
by Pedro
'blah blah BROWSE SUBSTITUTED'


I agree that it is likely something like that. Show us LISTDSI information.

Re: EDIT gives BROWSE error?!

PostPosted: Sat Nov 19, 2016 2:46 am
by BillyBoyo
Search-engineing reveals an issue with a data set which, due to size, could not fit within the region allocated, so VIEW reverted to BROWSE, and BROWSE not supported in batch.

Do you have a large data set and a "small" region?

Re: EDIT gives BROWSE error?!

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:16 pm
by Steve Coalbran
Thanks guys!
You're all correct, I'm an idiot (again/still) !!!
The bottom line of my OUTDD SUPERC listing reads (itself in VIEW)... note the line-number?
682431  ISRS059E A SYNAD ERROR INTERCEPT ON THE NEW-FILE/DATA SET IS AN I/O ERR

which should have given me a small clue? :roll:
I was also running with no REGION !!!
Reran with REGION=0M and slightly modified REXX code...
 
   /*REXX*/                                            
   ARG dsn                                            
   PARSE VALUE 77 WITH RC zerrsm zerrlm                
   ADDRESS ISPEXEC "VIEW DATASET("dsn") MACRO(CANCEL) "  
   SAY "RC="RC                                          
   SAY zerrsm                                          
   SAY zerrlm                                          
   EXIT

gives...
RC=0

READY
END
unless...
I am in VIEW/EDIT on that TEMP.OUTDD when (as I was trying to get)...
12.41.10 JOB73597 ÅHASP165 N472730T ENDED AT PKBMVS  MAXCC=0990 CN(INTERNAL)
and
 *       Data set in use         -/-Data set 'N472730.TEMP.OUTDD' in use by another user, try later or enter HELP for a
READY                                                                          
END        

no worries.
I was thinking because the IMACRO was CANCEL that it wouldn't load it in VIEW ...Wrong?!
Thanks again.