FILSZ=En question



IBM's flagship sort product DFSORT for sorting, merging, copying, data manipulation and reporting. Includes ICETOOL and ICEGENER

FILSZ=En question

Postby martylin » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:10 am


//SORT1     EXEC PGM=SORT                    
//STEPLIB   DD  DSN=SYS1.LINKLIB,DISP=SHR    
//SORTLIB   DD  DSN=SORT.SORTLIB,DISP=SHR    
//SYSOUT    DD  SYSOUT=*                      
//SORTIN    DD  DSN=REP.A01.PS,DISP=SHR
//          DD  DSN=REP.A02.PS,DISP=SHR
//SORTOUT   DD  DSN=REP.A03.PS,DISP=OLD                            
//SORT1     EXEC SORT1                        
//SYSIN     DD    *                          
  SORT FIELDS=(1,26,CH,A),EQUALS,
               FILSZ=E10000000,DYNALLOC=SYSDA
  INCLUDE COND=(37,4,CH,EQ,C'1768',AND,80,1,PD,EQ,1)
 


I am a beginner on JCL, I am already studying for a while, but still confuse it?

EQUALS =>
What's the function in here? Is same with OPTION EQUALS

If I have two input ps files and they are total approximately 1 million records, And the output maybe 0.5 million records, in this case, what number should I enter after FILSZ, and is it necessary ?
FILSZ=En =>
martylin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 2:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: FILSZ=En question

Postby prino » Wed Jun 01, 2016 9:14 am

And what is the relevance of this gebeuzel to JCL?
Robert AH Prins
robert.ah.prins @ the.17+Gb.Google thingy
User avatar
prino
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 12:22 am
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: FILSZ=En question

Postby BillyBoyo » Wed Jun 01, 2016 10:42 am

Although it is widespread enough to believe that it is being taught, Control Cards, like those for SORT, are not JCL.

JCL is everything in the JCL Reference, and nothing else.

To your question, yes, that EQUALS is the one from OPTION EQUALS. If you used OPTION EQUALS you would not need it there.

On the FILSZ, basically don't code it unless you have to, for sure using DFSORT (tell us if you are using SyncSORT and the topic will be moved again).

When do you need to? When called from a program and SORT is not reading the records itself; where the bulk of the records on a dataset are wildly variant in length from a guessed "average" length - you will see a message for that.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times


Return to DFSORT/ICETOOL/ICEGENER

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post