Page 1 of 1

Copying a VB file which is in TAPE to DASD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:57 pm
by djprakash1ml
Hi,

My requirement is to copy a VB file which is in tape to DASD so that I can access it.
Please can you just browse through the following cases and suggest.

Case1:

I tried the following SORT JCL (I have been using this for FB files though).

//CRJAYAP1 JOB (1,50071),'AJD-YYDDD1',MSGCLASS=Y,CLASS=H,
// USER=&SYSUID,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP10R EXEC PGM=SORT
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DISP=SHR,DSN=<VB TAPE FILE>
//SORTOUT DD DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=SYSDA,VOL=SER=U79205,
// DCB=(LRECL=4096,BLKSIZE=27998,RECFM=VB,DSORG=PS),
// SPACE=(CYL,(1000,1000),RLSE),
// DSN=<Sorted file>
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
/*

Case2:

I tried the following IEBGENER JCL.

//CRJAYAP@ JOB (1,50071),'AJD-YYDDD1',MSGCLASS=X,CLASS=H,
// USER=CRJAYAP,NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//*MAIN FAILURE=CANCEL
//*------------------------------------------------------------
//STEP05R EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=<VB TAPE FILE>,
// DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=<output dataset>,
// DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),
// UNIT=SYSDA,
// DCB=(LRECL=4096,BLKSIZE=27998,RECFM=VB,DSORG=PS),
// SPACE=(CYL,(1800,500),RLSE)

In both cases my job is not getting picked up and I get the following message.

OsdaNet 1.4 Eligible MAINs Row 1 of 5
Command ===> SCROLL ==> PAGE

JobName : CRJAYAP2 JobID : JOB21300
JobClass : H Gr : CLASSH(WLM)
SchEnv Name: NOT REQUESTED Status : MAIN(ALLOCATE)
Wait Reason: MDS could not allocate DEVICE=LDE33333

GL LPAR Main SCHENV Eligible Status
LOC Name Card Main
G DEVJ N N/R Y GROUP DISABLED
L DEV1 N N/R Y
L DEV2 N N/R Y
L DEV3 N N/R Y GROUP DISABLED
L DEV4 N N/R Y
**************************** Bottom of data *****************************

Could you please help me with this?

Thanks,
David

Re: Copying a VB file which is in TAPE to DASD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:01 pm
by Robert Sample
This is one of those cases where you absolutely, positively must contact your site support group. We do not know your site standards, nor how your tape library was set up -- but your site support group does. They can tell you whether you are running your job on the wrong LPAR, or if you need a UNIT and VOLSER on your tape reference, or whatever the problem is.

Re: Copying a VB file which is in TAPE to DASD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:28 pm
by djprakash1ml
Thanks Robert. Sure will do.

Re: Copying a VB file which is in TAPE to DASD

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:48 pm
by steve-myers
I am no JES3 expert, but the message suggests, to me, anyway, that the devtype data in the catalog entry for the tape data set is screwed up. Possibly the volume serial, too.

You may be able to correct the problem by specifying a tape unit name in your JCL. I echo Robert in stating you must consult with your support people.