Page 1 of 2

how to split the records

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:43 pm
by muthu455
hello,
i have the input file like this and i have tried to split the records...
000100 THISIS FIRST 1
000200 THISIS SECOND2
000300 THISIS THIRD3
000400 THISIS FOURTH4
000500 THISIS FIVETH5
000600 THISIS SIXTH6
000700 THISIS SEVENTH7
000800 THISIS EIGTH8
000900 THISIS NINETH9
001000 THISIS TENTH
my dfsort like this
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=ICEMAN                         
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*                           
//SORTIN DD DSN=MUTHU677.MUTHU.PS,DISP=SHR       
//SORTOUT DD DSN=MUTHU677.MUTHU.PS1,DISP=SHR     
//SORTOUT1 DD DSN=MUTHU677.MUTHU.PS2,DISP=OLD   
//SYSIN DD *                                   
    SORT FIELDS=(1,5,CH,A)                       
    OUTFIL FNAMES=(SORTOUT,SORTOUT1),SPLIT       
/*

but i getting the error maxcc=16
and my errors like this
00I 1 - CONTROL STATEMENTS FOR 5694-A01, Z/OS DFSORT V1R10 - 18:02 ON WED JU
         SORT FIELDS=(1,5,FS,A)                                             
         OUTFIL FNAMES=(SORTOUT,SORTOUT1),SPLIT                             
01I F RECORD TYPE IS F - DATA STARTS IN POSITION 1                         
22A 0 80 BYTE FIXED RECORD LENGTH IS NOT EQUAL TO 121 BYTE LRECL FOR SORTOUT1
51I 0 C5-K90014 C6-K90014 C7-BASE   C8-K90014 E4-BaSE   E7-BASE             
52I 3 END OF DFSORT

some one give me the correct solution

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:34 pm
by Akatsukami
As you claim both DFSORT and JCL in your skill set, why does not the ICE222A message give you enough information?

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:15 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

BYTE FIXED RECORD LENGTH IS NOT EQUAL TO 121 BYTE LRECL FOR SORTOUT1
This did not tell you what is wrong?

Why is sortout1 disp=old? Why is sortout disl=shr?
Neither is acceptable most places - especially shr. How can a dataset that is being written to be "shared".

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:09 am
by muthu455
i made change but still i'm getting the error like this

ICE143I 0 BLOCKSET COPY TECHNIQUE SELECTED
ICE250I 0 VISIT http://www.ibm.com/storage/dfsort FOR DFSORT PAPERS, EXAMPLES AN
ICE000I 1 - CONTROL STATEMENTS FOR 5694-A01, Z/OS DFSORT V1R10 - 13:37 ON THU JU
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL FNAMES=(OUT,OUT1),SPLIT
ICE201I F RECORD TYPE IS F - DATA STARTS IN POSITION 1
ICE222A 0 80 BYTE FIXED RECORD LENGTH IS NOT EQUAL TO 121 BYTE LRECL FOR OUT1
ICE751I 0 C5-K90014 C6-K90014 C7-BASE C8-K90014 E9-K40168 E7-BASE
ICE052I 3 END OF DFSORT

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 11:23 am
by NicC
You did not specify what changes you made but you got the same error so i suppose you never made changes to the LRECLs of the output files. Until you make changes that address the error then it is not going to work.

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:04 pm
by muthu455
Nic...

in lrecl what i need to change.........? In the following code is working ... because the output file disp=new thats the change only i made.......
//MUTHUJ JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM=ICEMAN
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SORTIN DD DSN=MUTHU455.MUTHU.PS,DISP=SHR
//OUT DD DSN=MUTHU455.MUTHU.PS5,DISP=(NEW,CATLG),
// SPACE=(TRK,(1,1)),DCB=(LRECL=80,RECFM=FB,BLKSIZE=800)
//OUT1 DD DSN=MUTHU455.MUTHU.PS6,DISP=(NEW,CATLG),
// SPACE=(TRK,(1,1)),DCB=(LRECL=80,RECFM=FB,BLKSIZE=800)
//SYSIN DD *
SORT FIELDS=COPY
OUTFIL FNAMES=(OUT,OUT1),SPLIT
/*

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 3:28 pm
by Akatsukami
muthu455 wrote:in lrecl what i need to change.........? In the following code is working ... because the output file disp=new thats the change only i made.......

You completely failed to understand, and perhaps didn't even bother to read, the ICE222A message that you got:
22A 0 80 BYTE FIXED RECORD LENGTH IS NOT EQUAL TO 121 BYTE LRECL FOR SORTOUT1
IOW, MUTHU677.MUTHU.PS2 has a LRECL of 121. When you created MUTHU455.MUTHU.PS6, you gave it (probably mindlessly, judging from the rest of your posting) an LRECL of 80...therefore the job ran.

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:15 pm
by muthu455
"akatukami'...
i read that message and i have mode lrecl=130, that time also i got the same error only....
but above that code is working correctly.... u just try that code after that u post......

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:19 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

If you still have a problem, post the actual jcl and sort control statements you submitted as well as the messsages (including message ids) that were generated bu the run.

Re: how to split the records

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:54 pm
by muthu455
Now i solved the problem...........