Page 1 of 1

Need to pass date.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:20 pm
by anoopm7
Hi all,

Please do tell me how to pass date to a variable for a program when it runs in production .when we tested it we used to do by manually editing the date. But now we want to automatizie the process.Hence want to know how i can pass the date so as the program generates report daily by using the passed date value.

Thanks in advance
Anoop

Re: Need to pass date.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:44 pm
by arunprasad.k
Please do tell me how to pass date to a variable for a program when it runs in production


What date?? Current date or some other date?? In what format??

Why you want to pass and why not to ACCEPT it from COBOL

Options are numerous, you can use ACCEPT DATE (in COBOL), EZACFSM1, Sort products, etc.

Explain the requirement clearly, you will have a better chance of getting a good soulution.

Arun.

Re: Need to pass date.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:16 pm
by anoopm7
Thanks Arun for the quick response.

I want to pass the current date in yy/mm/dd format. Its simple job with no cobol programs been called .The date needs to be called and then passed to a control card which fetches the necessary data for that date and returns the data.

Hence i want to know how we can pass date in a JCL into a variable for current date residing in a control card.

Re: Need to pass date.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:55 pm
by arunprasad.k
Thanks Arun for the quick response.


You are welcome.

I use this JCL to create the control statements to FTP a dataset to a server with date as an qualifier.

I hope you can modify this and use.

//S1 EXEC PGM=EZACFSM1                                                 
//SYSIN    DD *                                                         
CD N:\RECALL\R0714\                                                     
PUT 'KRT746U.R0714.VINOUT(0)' R0714-VIN3-D&LYR2&LMON&LDAY..TXT         
QUIT                                                                   
/*                                                                     
//SYSOUT   DD DSN=YOUR.CONTROL.CARD,                                   
//         DISP=(NEW,CATLG,DELETE),UNIT=SAVDA,                         
//         DCB=(RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=0),                           
//         SPACE=(CYL,(1,1),RLSE)                                       


Post if you face any issues.

Arun.