Page 1 of 2

GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:07 am
by dn2012
Hello All,

For our billing process we received files from program group on regular basis. Sometimes they send us multiple files too. Program group place the file in the following DS.
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0172V00
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0173V00
We created the new member in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE (TCISmmdd).
We copied dataset provided by programming group as
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA into new member TCIS0222
We edited existing member USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN)
//SORT EXEC PGM=SORT
//SORTIN DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(DEFAULT)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(CWS)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(TCIS0222)
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(PDB) ## 10/28/11
// DD DISP=OLD,DSN=USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(ETRS1211)



After that we submitted the job and its updates.
Now we want to use GDG for this purpose.
I have created GDG base as below:

//********************************************************
//* JCL FOR CREATING GDG
//********************************************************
//GDG EXEC PGM=IDCAMS
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD *

DEFINE GENERATIONDATAGROUP -
(NAME(FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG) -
LIMIT(10) SCRATCH)
//*
******************************** Bottom of Data **********

Following entries are existing in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN).

//SORTOUT DD DISP=OLD,DSN= USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE.DATA.GDG
//INPUT DD DISP=OLD,DSN= USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE.GDG


What else I need to do?

Thank You

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:20 am
by Akatsukami
You realize that your post is not only full of typos and conceptual errors, but hopelessly clear?

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:51 am
by dn2012
I am looking for answer, thanks

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:59 am
by enrico-sorichetti
am looking for answer, thanks

good luck!
if You want answers, or <good> answers You need to post a better description of Your requirement/problem
the question as posed does not invite people to spend time on it!

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:03 am
by Robert Sample
Your "explanation" is as clear as mud. When you say
Now we want to use GDG for this purpose.
what purpose are you talking about? Your entire post makes absolutely no sense -- I'm not sure if there is a language barrier or if you really have absolutely no idea what you are wanting to do, what your site has done already, or how to get to where you want to go from where you are. For example, you said
We created the new member in USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE (TCISmmdd).
without explaining WHAT new member, why you need to create a new member, or if this is the file you want to replace with a GDG, or are you wanting to copy this file to a GDG, or what?

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:08 am
by dn2012
This is the file we replace. (TCISmmdd).

Yes, we want to copy to GDG.

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:10 am
by NicC
Taking a wild guess...
Create a gdgbase - IDCAMS - which you have shown.
Any dataset that is to be part of the gdg should now be changed to gdgbase(+1) when being created
Any dataset that belongs to the gdgbase should be referred to by its relative generation number e.g. gdgbase(0) gdgbase(-1) etc or by the base name only if all generations are to be concatenated. Note that for the latter scenario the latest data will be read first and the oldest last.

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:19 am
by dn2012
Nic,

I have created a gdgbase.

FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG

Files were placed by group is under following PDS
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA

Do I need to copy files to FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG?
If not, what should I do?

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:41 am
by Robert Sample
Do I need to copy files to FAKE.USA.ITT.SOURCE.DATA.GDG?
If not, what should I do?
This is a question that can only be answered at your site. This is an issue of system design, and systems can be designed in multiple ways. Depending upon your system and its design, the answer could be -- yes copy files -- or no, don't copy files -- or, get more information to make that decision.

If the decision AT YOUR SITE is to copy the files, you'll need to decide if they need to be copied, member by member, from the PDS into separate generations of the GDG or if all the members can be concatenated into a copy to a single generation of the GDG. Again, this is a system design issue and not something to be answered except by technical experts at your site.

Further, if this work is for a customer, you may find that the customer has some specific requirements that must be met -- yet another system design issue.

Re: GDG

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:41 am
by dn2012
we do not need to copy any file to gdg.

Our files resides under following DS
SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA

we copied file onto TCISmmdd as below:

//*******************************************************************
//*CREATE A MEMBER THRU IEBGENER UTILITY,COPY MULTIPLE FILES(MEMEBRS)
//*ONTO ONE FILE (MEMBER)
//*******************************************************************

//STEP010 EXEC PGM=IEBGENER
//SYSUT1 DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0172V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0173V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0174V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0175V00,DISP=SHR
// DD DSN=SYSDN.FAKE.AGNCYIMF.DATA.G0176V00,DISP=SHR
//SYSUT2 DD DSN=IMSTESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(TCIS0222),DISP=SHR
//SYSIN DD DUMMY
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*
Command ===>
000020 //*SYSUT1 DD *
000021 //*
****** **************************** Bottom of Data *****


Then we need to call GDG in the existing USATESTA.IMF310.ITD.SOURCE(JOBRUN).
Please find attached code.