Page 1 of 1

Jcl for running and compiling cobol program

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:49 am
by er.manishawasthi
Hi '
I'm, searching for Jcl for running an compiling cobol program . Need some support.

Regards
Manish Awasthi

Re: Jcl for running and compiling cobol program

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:58 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Compile/link jcl is completely site-specific. There is standard compile/link already on your system and you should use that jcl for your program development.

If you talk with your seniors or your technical support people, they can show you the proper jcl for your environment.

Re: Jcl for running and compiling cobol program

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:18 am
by er.manishawasthi
Actually i have been given a task for to write jcl for compiling and running the cobol program .... i have written run jcl

//COBRUN2A JOB NOTIFY=&SYSUID
//STEP1 EXEC PGM= <- LOAD MODULE NAME
//STEPLIB DD DSN= <- LOAD MOD DIR
//SYSOUT DD SYSOUT=*
//SYSIN DD SYSOUT
//*

If there is any correction to above task please let me know the pgm and dsn name i will write after discussing with my seniors

Re: Jcl for running and compiling cobol program

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:19 am
by er.manishawasthi
does anybody have syntax for jcl for compiling do post it...........

Re: Jcl for running and compiling cobol program

PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:48 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Actually i have been given a task for to write jcl for compiling and running the cobol program
Who has given such an assignment? Programmers should never create compile/link jcl - it is the easiest way to corrupt an environment.

does anybody have syntax for jcl for compiling do post it...........
It is (should be) already on your system. If you need to make a copy for some strange reason, look at the output from some other compile you will have jcl that works for your system.

Many moderstors (on several forums) delete posted compile jcl. . .

Also, your execute jcl has a problem - sysin should probably not be a sysout. . .