Page 1 of 2

record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:38 am
by white-shadow
hi
in ps file the length is 80 columns. but i have to insert some data whose length together is greater than 80 chars per record.
so is there any ways to expand the the columns and fit all the data in it.
i think i explained the query.
thanx in advance.

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:09 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Change the record length. . . In every place the file is used.

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:13 am
by white-shadow
can u please explain it. because 80 is maximum length.

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:38 am
by dick scherrer
Hello,

If you add the new data to the record format the length will no longer be 80.

You cannot put 5 quarts of data in a 4-quart container. . .

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 2:44 am
by white-shadow
hmmm got it. Not possible.
thanx

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:17 am
by NicC
You can convert your file to be hold variable length records. The ones that are already 80 bytes will stay at 80 and any new records will be whatever length they are. But, as Dick intimated, any downstream programs/JCL will have to be changed.

You may be able to do the conversion by utility but why not write a program to do it and thus get practice in reading/writing variable length records?

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:07 pm
by nagendra
hiiii,

here 80 columns are there right..

but if data is there more than 80 characters... no problem we can enter...

if there are 80 columns only that belongs to the front end screen only not the record...

if u want to insert more than 80 characters we shud hav some symbols like hiphen or something to be continued in the next line.....

hope u understood my point of view..

may be, i m wrong..

but it may be that, i m right.....


hope for good....

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:14 pm
by NicC
nagendra wrote:if there are 80 columns only that belongs to the front end screen only not the record...
if u want to insert more than 80 characters we shud hav some symbols like hiphen or something to be continued in the next line.....


That will work only if the current record structure has a filler in column 80 and if you are prepared to change the processing logic of the program creating the dataset and all programs that read the dataset - not to mention the documentation :o

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:36 pm
by nagendra
Keep X at 80th colomn and continue that code in next line

Re: record greater than 80char

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:52 pm
by NicC
doesn't matter what character you use - if column 80 is already used for data then you cannot use it for a continuation marker.