can not find listing data set



Support for OS/VS COBOL, VS COBOL II, COBOL for OS/390 & VM and Enterprise COBOL for z/OS

can not find listing data set

Postby bobguo » Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:59 pm

when COBOL program was compiled, which should generate one listing data set...
but i can not find it, can somebody tell me how to set it or i should add one "//filename DD" in the jcl?
thanks in advance!
bobguo
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:18 am
Location: shanghai
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:13 pm

You'll want to use the shop-standard JCL, which ought to have a DD statement for the listing. If however it does not, or if you feel that having your own JCL is worth risking your job over, then add
//SYSPRINT DD  SYSOUT=x

where x is a suitable output class, or "*" to use the job's MSGCLASS.
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby dick scherrer » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:30 pm

Hello,

Depending on exactly your compile process is set up, there may be more than one "compile output". There may be pre-processor output(s) along with the link/bind output.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby steve-myers » Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:12 am

bobguo wrote:... or i should add one "//filename DD" in the jcl?
thanks in advance!
//filename DD" is a JCL error. I presume you meant //filename DD *. This JCL statement defines in input data set filled with non-JCL card images that follow the statement.
//filename DD  *
This
     data
          is
            an
              input
                   data
                       set
                          a
                           program
                                  can
                                     read
                                         using
                                              DD name
                                                     filename
//ddname  DD  --
steve-myers
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2105
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:21 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 243 times

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby bobguo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:21 am

actually, what i want to find is just like this:
 000054  MOVE
     000426  45E0 D14E               BAL  14,334(0,13)            TGT TEST INFORMATION AREA +10
     00042A                 GN=19    EQU  *
     00042A  D202 902A A053          MVC  42(3,9),83(10)          EOF-FLAG                          PGMLIT AT +71


i want to see which HLASM instructions one COBOL sentences can be divided into...
though i added '//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*', and i can find below in the sysprint, above i can not find.
00012C  (LIT+0)      FFFFFFFC 00001000 00000001 00000000 E2E8E2D6 E4E34040
00014C  (LIT+32)     C8C5D3D3 D61A3E5B 00010203 04050607 08090A0B 0C0D0E0F
00016C  (LIT+64)     18191A1B 1C1D1E1F 20212223 24252627 28292A2B 2C2D2E2F
00018C  (LIT+96)     38393A3B 3C3D3E3F 40414243 44454647 48494A4B 4C4D4E4F
0001AC  (LIT+128)    58595A5B 5C5D5E5F 60616263 64656667 68696A6B 6C6D6E6F
0001CC  (LIT+160)    78797A7B 7C7D7E7F 80818283 84858687 88898A8B 8C8D8E8F
0001EC  (LIT+192)    98999A9B 9C9D9E9F A0A1A2A3 A4A5A6A7 A8A9AAAB ACADAEAF
00020C  (LIT+224)    B8B9BABB BCBDBEBF C0C1C2C3 C4C5C6C7 C8C9CACB CCCDCECF
00022C  (LIT+256)    D8D9DADB DCDDDEDF E0E1E2E3 E4E5E6E7 E8E9EAEB ECEDEEEF
bobguo
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:18 am
Location: shanghai
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby Monitor » Fri Aug 30, 2013 9:40 am

What you are looking for is achieved by adding/changing a COBOL compiler option. Try reading COBOL manual(s) or just Google.
Monitor
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby bobguo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:58 pm

yes, i learnt it on the webset, and thought it should be set to LIST and NOOFFSET in the COBOL compile option, but where should i go to set it?
bobguo
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 11:18 am
Location: shanghai
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby BillyBoyo » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:27 pm

It should appear in the normal listing dataset along with the normal output.

If you do a Find for a COBOL verb that is in your program (GOBACK or STOP (RUN) if you are using that) then do the RFind. If you get to the bottom of the file wihout having found the LIST output, post your compile options from the listing and your version of COBOL (from the heading of each page of the listing).
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: can not find listing data set

Postby Monitor » Fri Aug 30, 2013 5:41 pm

You can either set in in the parm-field for the compiler in the JCL, or, the easiest way, add a CBL LIST NOOFFSET as the first statement in your COBOL program.

These users thanked the author Monitor for the post:
bobguo (Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:31 pm)
Monitor
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times


Return to IBM Cobol

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post