Page 1 of 1

Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 5:18 pm
by utpalpal07
Hi,

I am new to assemblers. I have a to enlarge the size of variable.
Is there any sizeof operator which gives the size of variables?
And how to display the value of any register in spool?

Please Help

regards
utpal

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:16 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Suggest you locate the variable in question in the source and modify it according to the new length.

Possibly there is more that you have not posted . . .

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:21 pm
by Robert Sample
There is an L' length operator, but it's not exactly a sizeof function. Perhaps if you more fully explain what you want, you'll get better answers.

And the fastest, easiest way to print register values most likely is the SNAP dump macro instruction. Check the Assembler Services Guide manual in the MVS bookshelf (http://www.ibm.com and navigate to the z/OS libary) for details on what's required to use it.

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:25 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

I just noticed the subject for this topic. . .

How does the subject relate to the question posted?

And i missed the second question. . . :oops:

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:10 am
by utpalpal07
Hi all,

Actually I need to change the size of some datasets from bytes to megabytes.
But I first wanna to display the size of datasets to know the actual size of datasets.

So i am looking if there is any instructions that can show the value of registers to spool.

I have used:

WTO TEXT=(R8),MF=(E,WWTO)

and

WWTO WTO TEXT=,MF=L List form


Regards,
Utpal

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:02 pm
by NicC
size of dataset or variable?

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 2:48 pm
by utpalpal07
@Nic: its datasets

Regards
Utpal

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 5:01 pm
by Robert Sample
What does this mean?
Actually I need to change the size of some datasets from bytes to megabytes.
Are you planning on deleting and redefining the data sets? If so, why are you posting in the Assembler section since that would be a JCL issue? If not, I think you need to clarify exactly what it is your are wanting to do because so far you're making absolutely no sense, and you've asked about several extremely different things.

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:07 pm
by NicC
Sorry but it is Nic not @Nic. This is not bird-song or where-ever this @ thing started.

Re: Bytes to Megabytes

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:33 pm
by dick scherrer
Hello,

Actually I need to change the size of some datasets from bytes to megabytes.
Suggest you post the current allocation of a couple of these files.

As Robert mentioned, what you want is not clear and you need to clarify.