How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?



High Level Assembler(HLASM) for MVS & VM & VSE

How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby noha_nabil » Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:37 pm

Dear All

I am new to assembler.

I have a parameter called "Date" ?

and the line in JCL is:
// SETPARM PWRJOB,MYDATE='&MYDATEX'

My Goal is to get this parameter through console, so How to do that in the Assembler Program ?

then How to access "MYDATE" that exist in the JCL to set it with the i/p value ??

plz i want the solution in its simplest form to understand it :)

Thanks
noha_nabil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby BillyBoyo » Mon Sep 10, 2012 5:53 pm

Not that easy :-)

IF it is possible it won't be something for a beginner.

The other problem you'll face asking here is a relative lack of VSE knowledge. I think I can remember seeing another VSE question since I started, but that's about it. 99.99999% z/OS. Where JCL is entirely different, not only in form, but in how it is processed.

Is said, "if the world is about to explode" then you should look into it as the only possibility of saving the world. Otherwise forget it.

I guess you can either look for a site/group/mailing-list specifically for VSE, or ask IBM. I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?

Oh, Mmmm. Getting some hits from Google. Try it out.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby noha_nabil » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:01 pm

BillyBoyo wrote:Not that easy :-)

IF it is possible it won't be something for a beginner.

The other problem you'll face asking here is a relative lack of VSE knowledge. I think I can remember seeing another VSE question since I started, but that's about it. 99.99999% z/OS. Where JCL is entirely different, not only in form, but in how it is processed.

Is said, "if the world is about to explode" then you should look into it as the only possibility of saving the world. Otherwise forget it.

I guess you can either look for a site/group/mailing-list specifically for VSE, or ask IBM. I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?

Oh, Mmmm. Getting some hits from Google. Try it out.


hhhhhh :D you resolute that to solve by assembler if the world is about to explode :D

anyway I'll try googling it otherwise forget it :D but I hope that I can do it :)
noha_nabil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby noha_nabil » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:23 pm

BillyBoyo wrote:
I'm assuming you've check with the Sysprog(s)?



u mean that website http://pi-sysprog.de/indexe.html ?

anyway I found this regarding SETPARM and HLASM:
http://pi-sysprog.de/free/pigetprm.html

I think this is what I want, but it seems Advanced. I cannot see the source code of the HLASM :(
noha_nabil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby BillyBoyo » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:29 pm

No, I meant the Systems Programmer(s) at your site :-)

With google what looked more useful to you were references to some code from a 1989 book. I didn't look into other stuff, just looked a little to see if there would be something useful for your researches...

These users thanked the author BillyBoyo for the post:
noha_nabil (Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:25 pm)
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby noha_nabil » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:37 pm

BillyBoyo wrote:No, I meant the Systems Programmer(s) at your site :-)

With google what looked more useful to you were references to some code from a 1989 book. I didn't look into other stuff, just looked a little to see if there would be something useful for your researches...


aha .. I already asked them, no one knows how to do that.

but someone told me that it can be done with Assembler.
noha_nabil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby BillyBoyo » Mon Sep 10, 2012 6:55 pm

I googled for "vse setparm cobol".

These users thanked the author BillyBoyo for the post:
noha_nabil (Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:25 pm)
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby noha_nabil » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:53 pm

BillyBoyo wrote:I googled for "vse setparm cobol".


I reached that the solution exists in a book called "VSE JCL and subroutines for application programmers" By Leo Langevin.

He wrote a subroutine to Get and Set the JCL paramters through COBOL !!!

but the bad news is I cannot find a free version of this book :(
noha_nabil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby dick scherrer » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:57 pm

Hello,

Unless you have specific direction/permission from management, do not write code that requires console interraction with the operator.

Why does someone believe that this process should involve the console?

but the bad news is I cannot find a free version of this book
Not everything is free. . . (and should Not be) If it is worth having, it is worth the price to you and/or your organiation. Why should the author not be compensated for the work?
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: How to get and set JCL Parameter using HLASM ?

Postby BillyBoyo » Mon Sep 10, 2012 8:45 pm

Well, I dug a little deeper with - "Leo Langevin" VSE Cobol - in google,

Found a sample ASM to get the POWER Jobname, an extensive article in Xephon from '99 with potentially relevant ASM code in it. Stopped there, because it is not me doing it.
BillyBoyo
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3804
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:02 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 265 times


Return to Assembler

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post