Page 1 of 1

Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:11 pm
by anjali_b
Hey all,

I am working with this utility which normally executes in batch. The output from utility goes into a dataset which i need to feed as an input to REXX. Right now there is a disconnect between batch to REXX.

Submitting the batch thru REXX and then looping forever to get the output for next process is one way but not a good one.

I was trying out an alternative to execute the utility thru REXX itself but its not working out because of library (jobilb)concatenation limitation in rexx.

I was hoping to find answers to following questions:

a> How can i remove the disconnect between JCL and REXX without using the forever looping thing?
b> Is it possible to have JOBLIB/STEPLIB concatenations in REXX?
c> If a GDG base is being ALLOCATED does that mean all the generations will be allocated as in case of JCL?

Thank you,
AB.

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:13 pm
by MrSpock
???

Does REXX actually mean TSO?

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 6:40 pm
by anjali_b
REXX Program is being fed the output file from JCL.

Presently, once the JCL execution is done then REXX program is manually executed with the output file from JCL. I was wondering if the flow from JCL to REXX could happen without any manual intervention. As in, once the job ends the REXX gets invoked automatically.

I hope, that answers your question.

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:20 pm
by expat
And the answer is no.

The way to go is to execute the REXX in batch at the end of the other step in your batch job.

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:31 am
by anjali_b
Thank you Expat for your reply.

Do you reckon any difference between REXX getting executed through JCL and in TSO?

Thank you,
AB.

Re: Calling a batch utility through rexx.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:37 am
by expat
Not really. The REXX code can process the same in batch as in foreground, with the exception of panel displays.