How to execute REXX code



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

How to execute REXX code

Postby yousufroushan » Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:36 am

Hi,
I am new to REXX. I have written a simple REXX code and compiled it by going to 4--->14 in ISPF MENU options. But i don't know how to execute REXX code.Help me in how to execute REXX code.
yousufroushan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to execute REXX code

Postby expat » Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:44 pm

TSO EXEC 'dataset name(member name)' is one way

Are we talking foreground or background here
expat
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to execute REXX code

Postby yousufroushan » Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:44 pm

thanks expat.
As i am new to REXX, i don't know about this option. Tell me about background option also.
yousufroushan
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to execute REXX code

Postby NicC » Wed Jul 21, 2010 4:20 pm

please note: you do not need to compile Rexx programs - they run quite nicely interpreted.

If your dataset name is part of your SYSEXEC concatenation then you can run simple by typing the member name at the prompt in option 6 or by TSO member at any ISPF prompt.

In background you execute IKJEFT01 which is batch TSO. you need SYSTSPRT for Rexx ouptout (from Trace and SAY) and SYSTSIN which is where you provide the tso command run your member...from one of my jobs
//RUNREXX EXEC PGM=IKJEFT01                                                     
//SYSTSIN  DD *                                                                 
 EXEC 'HLQ.LLQ.EXEC(DJC)' 'AUTOSUB1'                                         
/*                                                                             
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                                         
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                                         
//PLAN     DD DSN=HLQ.LLQ.JCL(AUTODJC),DISP=SHR

by including DDNAMES for any file you use you do not need to allocate them within the program which is why I have a DDNAME for PLAN
The problem I have is that people can explain things quickly but I can only comprehend slowly.
Regards
Nic
NicC
Global moderator
 
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Pushing up the daisies (almost)
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 136 times


Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post