Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Viswanathchandru » Tue Mar 12, 2013 1:37 am

Dear all,

I need suggestions for running a rexx code in batch mode. The TSO allocation space for my logon id is quiet small (4M) and i don't have access to change the Region parameter in the JCL beyond some limit(6M) as it is protected by some exits. But, I have an option of coding the IEFPROC DD statement. But, My doubt is if I run the rexx with IEFPROC DD will it be overriden by defaults i.e., my TSO Region space ? Hope I'm clear. Apologize if my thoughts are wrong. Any suggestions/advice would be helpful!!


Regards,
Viswa
Viswanathchandru
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Akatsukami » Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:05 am

You seem to be confusing background Rexx with a started task. Have you considered simply using the Rexx interpreter IRXJCL?
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
User avatar
Akatsukami
Global moderator
 
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:31 am
Location: Bloomington, IL
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Mar 12, 2013 2:21 am

I need suggestions for running a rexx code in batch mode.


I do not remember of any limitations in the region parameter for batch execution of the TMP

what happened when You tried to run a BATCH TSO using one of the jcl samples posted here ???
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Viswanathchandru » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:37 am

Hi Enrico,

I have not tried running this particular Snipet in Batch mode. But when it is executed in TSO (under my TSO Session) its getting with an Error "Machine storage Exhausted". So I came to a conclusion that this fails because the TSO(My TSO session) Region space is exhausted(4M) and so thought of running this in Batch mode.


Hi Akatsukami,

No, I have not tried this way. Because, I believe it won't work for exec's that invokes ISPF Services inside.
Viswanathchandru
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:46 am

So I came to a conclusion that this fails because the TSO(My TSO session) Region space is exhausted(4M) and so thought of running this in Batch mode.

unfortunately Your conclusion is wrong ... Your snippet fails because the design is flawed

until You post the snippet You are trying to run, any suggestion will be based on wild guessing.

at first guess You are using ..
EXECIO * DISKR... (STEM ... 

on a large file ..
and using EXECIO in such a way is prone to give the exhausted storage message
or You are creating stems with an inconsiderate large number of <entries>
no region parameter, will guarantee a successful execution in the above cases
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Viswanathchandru » Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:52 am

Hi Enrico,

This is the snipet I'm using.

ADDRESS SDSF "ISFLOG READ TYPE(SYSLOG)"       
MAIN:                                         
DO IX=1 TO ISFLINE.0                           
"EXECIO * DISKW ISFOUT (STEM ISFLINE. FINIS"   
CALL FINAL                                     
END                                           
FINAL:                                         
IF ISFLINE.IX = ISFLINE.0 THEN                 
NOP                                           
CALL RESULT0                                   
END                                           
ELSE CALL MAIN                                 



Regards,
Viswa
Viswanathchandru
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:00 am

I would say that the number of lines of the ISFLOG dataset is <too> large
there are too many ways to limit the storage that can be acquired by Your process
and in any case even if the limit is raised there is always a possibility that it could be hit again
better redesign the process

and SPEAK TO YOUR SUPPORT, they know what limits have been put in place

another consideration ...
the snippet You posted is completely unintelligible

the way it is written it will rewrite the ISFLOG repeated for the numbers of lines :geek:
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort

These users thanked the author enrico-sorichetti for the post:
Viswanathchandru (Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:02 am)
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Viswanathchandru » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:05 am

Hi Enrico,


Mr. Enrico Wrote: there are too many ways to limit the storage that can be acquired by Your process
--- Any clues or suggestions please :|


Mr. Enrico Wrote: better redesign the process
--- I'm not sure what is the story behind this valuable line. Still let me search.


Mr. Enrico Wrote: SPEAK TO YOUR SUPPORT, they know what limits have been put in place
-- Do you mean by the batch TSO region limit. If yes I have already spoken. The limit set is 6M. Please advice.

Regards,
Viswa
Viswanathchandru
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:10 am

I'm not sure what is the story behind this valuable line. Still let me search.

it is not a story ( tale ) it is a FACT whether You like it or not :evil:
if there is a limit carved in stone on the amount of storage that can be allocated
and You get the exhausted storage message ther is nothing You can do
You will have to review the design AMEN
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx in Batch Mode - Clarification

Postby Viswanathchandru » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:17 am

Hi Enrico,

Thanks for your time. I'm extremely sorry. I didn't mean it as a tale. (I meant the truth hidden).



Mr. Enrico wrote: the snippet You posted is completely unintelligible

the way it is written it will rewrite the ISFLOG repeated for the numbers of lines :geek:
.

I do have a check here
IF ISFLINE.IX = ISFLINE.0 THEN                 
NOP                                           
CALL RESULT0
This will prevent from infinite loops. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Regards,
Viswa
Viswanathchandru
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post