Page 1 of 1

Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:46 pm
by fernst
How can I start a job in a macro without getting the "JOB Jobname(JOB number) SUBMITTED" message ?

I tried this code, but it does not work:
X = MSG('OFF')
ADDRESS ISREDIT "SUBMIT"

Thanxs
Frank

Re: Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 1:03 am
by Mickeydusaor
change address ISREDIT "SUBMIT" to just "submit"

Re: Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:17 am
by Pedro
Use OUTTRAP('dummy.')

Re: Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:25 pm
by Blackthorn
Shouldn't it be

X = MSG('OFF')
ADDRESS TSO "SUBMIT"

Re: Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:33 pm
by Pedro
This thread is about 'macro' and the poster's example shows ISREDIT...

The TSO SUBMIT command is different than the SUBMIT macro statement.

1. The TSO SUBMIT command expects a data set name as a parameter.
2. The SUBMIT macro statement submits the contents of the editor work area, even if it is not saved.

When you use TSO SUBMIT from an edit macro, it does not know the difference and still wants to know a data set name. You get "ENTER DATA SET NAME" prompt and waits for your input.

Re: Starting job with macro

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 10:39 pm
by Blackthorn
Apologies. I must read things more carefully.