Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART



IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:32 am

Hi,

I am calling an ISPF edit macro in a rexx program and it works fine in online mode.
However when I try to run it in batch mode using ISPSTART, I think my rexx program doesn't run as there are no displays in Spool/Flasher which however comes when I run the program in online mode. However JCL runs without error, MAXCC=0.

Below is the JCL which I am using:

//TSOBATCH EXEC PGM=IKJEFT1B                             
//SYSEXEC  DD DSN=MATE16.REXX.TOOLSS,DISP=SHR             
//              DD DSN=ISP.SISPEXEC,DISP=SHR                   
//ISPPLIB  DD DSN=ISP.SISPPENU,DISP=SHR                   
//ISPMLIB  DD DSN=ISP.SISPMENU,DISP=SHR                   
//ISPSLIB  DD DSN=ISP.SISPSENU,DISP=SHR                   
//            DD DSN=ISP.SISPSLIB,DISP=SHR                   
//ISPTLIB  DD DSN=ISP.SISPTENU,DISP=SHR                   
//ISPLLIB  DD DSN=DSN910.SDSNLOAD,DISP=SHR               
//ISPLOG   DD SYSOUT=*                                   
//RPTDD    DD DSN=&SYSUID..REXX.DSN.REPORT,               
//            DISP=(MOD,CATLG,DELETE),                   
//            SPACE=(TRK,(10,10),RLSE),                   
//            UNIT=SYSDA,                                 
//            DCB=(DSORG=PS,RECFM=FB,LRECL=80,BLKSIZE=800)
//SYSPRINT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
//SYSTSPRT DD SYSOUT=*                                   
//SYSTSIN  DD DUMMY         
 PROFILE PREFIX(MATE16)     
 ISPSTART CMD(%STRSRCH P1 P2)
/*                           


In this STRSRCH is my rexx program which in turns call an ISPF macro, P1 & P2 are the two arguments passed to the rexx program.

I am not able to figure out the problem. Any help?
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:36 pm

I am not able to figure out the problem. Any help?

neither we do... NO!
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:50 pm

enrico-sorichetti wrote:
I am not able to figure out the problem. Any help?

neither we do... NO!


That's heart breaking, Enrico :(
Any suggestion you can think of.
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:57 pm

I am not that heart broken ... :mrgreen:

You really should learn how to ask for help ...

You only told us that

some jcl running a REXX script in an ISPF environment

did not provide the expected results.

the ball is in Your court now!

why not add a TRACE statement to Your rexx scripts ?
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:09 pm

Hi Enrico,

enrico-sorichetti wrote:You only told us that
some jcl running a REXX script in an ISPF environment
did not provide the expected results.


As per my understanding, this JCL is not even running the Rexx program specified (STRSRCH) and the problem lies in JCL only which is why I only specified JCL details.
To add, my rexx program 'STRSRCH' is trying to find a string in given PDS and also calls an edit macro to find the count of occurrences of that string using 'F ALL'.

enrico-sorichetti wrote:why not add a TRACE statement to Your rexx scripts ?


I used TRACE 'A' and still nothing is displayed in my job log.

Any more suggestions?
Let me know if you need further details.

Thanks for your help.
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:15 pm

//SYSTSIN  DD DUMMY       

does hint anything ?

I refuse to read UNCODED jcl snippets...
too much strain ...

but after Nic had kindly coded it the error was evident !

using the code tags to post jcl and code snippets is a DUE COURTESY to people who spend their time helping!
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:36 pm

Hi Enrico,

Will be using code tags whenever I will post further.
Nic, Thanks for coding it.

This was a stupid error which I should have seen.
After using DD *, it seems to work. However I am getting error code 998 which says 'ISPPROF' is not allocated.
So I added below to the allocations,
//ISPPROF  DD DSN=MATE16.ISPF.ISPPROF,DISP=SHR


And after adding the above, when I run the JCL again, the JCL waits for reserved unavailable dataset 'MATE16.ISPF.ISPPROF' which I coded in ISPPROF above.

In TSO ISRDDN, I can see this dataset for ISPPROF.

Any suggestion?

Thanks for your help.
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Mon Apr 21, 2014 1:38 pm

just use for ISPPROF a temporary dataset ...
cheers
enrico
When I tell somebody to RTFM or STFW I usually have the page open in another tab/window of my browser,
so that I am sure that the information requested can be reached with a very small effort
enrico-sorichetti
Global moderator
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:25 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 164 times

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:35 pm

Hi Enrico,
enrico-sorichetti wrote:just use for ISPPROF a temporary dataset ...


I am getting below now:
READY                                                                           
 ISPSTART CMD(%STRSRCH P1 P2)                                                   
  ISPT015 BLDL/FIND error         -/-ISPDTFRS received return code 8 from BLDL/FIND.
READY                                                                           
END

Is it because of the temp file allocated to ISPPROF.
I found below in a forum after few searches for the error:
Just a Thank you note.
I was getting below error message and tried all possible solution given in this forum but the code was failing with RC 998.
Code:
ISPT015 BLDL/FIND error -/-ISPDTFRS received return code
But after looking at above JCL I modified my JCL to copy the ISPFPROF and the Job executed successfully.

Any suggestion?
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Rexx Program not running with ISPSTART

Postby jiteshyadav » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:51 pm

Hi Enrico,

Thanks a mill.
Issue is resolved. I copied ISPPROF dataset in a temp dataset and used that in allocation.

Thanks.
jiteshyadav
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to CLIST & REXX

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post