Need Help in developing tools using Rexx

IBM's Command List programming language & Restructured Extended Executor

Need Help in developing tools using Rexx

Postby Praveen433 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:50 pm

Hi
I got recently placed in MNC as a fresher and my first task was to build some tools in Rexx. As i am completely new to this could you people help me in what are the best tools that will come as output of Rexx. As of my first task i have to write rexx code to take backup of a file by just typing "bkup" infront of the dataset, so that the backup file will be created with same as base file but 'bkup' as last qualifier. Could any one help me out in this.
Thanks in advance
Praveen433

Re: Need Help in developing tools using Rexx

Postby Akatsukami » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:14 pm

If you are completely new to software tool development and/or Rexx, why did you get this assignment?
"You have sat too long for any good you have been doing lately ... Depart, I say; and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!" -- what I say to a junior programmer at least once a day
Akatsukami
Global moderator

Postby Praveen433 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 11:30 pm

It seems like there is delay in assinging projects for us. so mean while they asked us to do our best on this task. I was also trying to learn Rexx thru tutorials, but need support
Praveen433

Postby enrico-sorichetti » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:19 am

a question here and there is ok!

but in this case You need FULL training, guidance and support,
I mildly suggest that You/Your organization are expecting too much from a forum
sharing not just general knowledge but designing something ad hoc for Your need

also the requirement is at least murky...
type something in front of a dataset ( from option 3.4 I guess )
and <do something> to take a <backup> of a dataset calling the backup datasetname.bkup

some questions that You should ask and meditate
the 3.4 list is from a catalog driven list or a volume driven one