"NOT" character



IBM's cross-platform compiler PL/I for MVS, VM & VSE, OS/390 and Enterprise PL/I for z/OS

"NOT" character

Postby StanislavL » Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:03 am

Sorry, maybe my question is stupid...
I didn't touch real MF from 1993 :) It was real MF, with real 3270... and there was a key with a "¬" , PL/1 "NOT" character.
I had no PC, I didn't know the word "Internet", and couldn't imagine this problem :)

Now I use x3270/c3270 to access my virtual MF, and there is no such key on my keyboard. I can do "copy-paste", but later I see some extra characters in the text.
I tried to use the characters "^" and "~" instead - PL/1 translator "understand" that it means "NOT", nevertheless RC=8 :(

Is there any way to write an expression "IF A NOT-EQUAL B" ?
Maybe any replacement exists ? (I tried "<>" and "><" - it doesn't work)
Maybe I use a bad telnet3270-cliend ? Which one is "good" ? (Which OS, codepage?)
Is there any solution ?....
StanislavL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "NOT" character

Postby dick scherrer » Tue Apr 07, 2009 6:06 am

Hello and welcome to the forum,

Yup, the "logical not" - on a "real" 3270, i believe it was an "uppercase 6" - but that is from memory rather than some actual reference. . .

Now I use x3270/c3270 to access my virtual MF
Possibly there is a mapping issue with this virtual mainframe?

On an IBM mainframe, x'5F' is the "not" character.

I tried to use the characters "^" and "~" instead
No, i wouldn't expect these to work.
I tried "<>" and "><" - it doesn't work
What happens when you use <>? Does the compiler raise a syntax error? If yes, please post the error message along with the message id.

Is there any solution ?....
I don't speak pl/i, but if all else fails, you might try something like:
if a = b
 then  "do nothing";
 else  "whatever is done when not=";
   
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: "NOT" character

Postby StanislavL » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:31 pm

Hi!
dick scherrer wrote:Yup, the "logical not" - on a "real" 3270, i believe it was an "uppercase 6" - but that is from memory rather than some actual reference. . .

Maybe... :) I have a book with a picture, but it's far from here.
Possibly there is a mapping issue with this virtual mainframe?

This character passes through : PC OS (Linux) -> telnet3270-client (x3270,c3270) -> emulator(hercules) -> MF OS,
and I can't even count all the translation tables ... It seems to me that hercules it is not responsible for this problem.

i'd like to know WHAT CHARACTER do people USUALLY use when they need EBCDIC '5F'
google didn't answer me, so, I can suppose that nobody else has the same problem :)
(At the same time I have to solve heaps of other problems, there is no time to think seriously about this one)

I tried to use the characters "^" and "~" instead
No, i wouldn't expect these to work.

Any other idea ? It seemd to me that '^' was the best candidate...
What happens when you use <>? Does the compiler raise a syntax error? If yes, please post the error message along with the message id.

IBM1352I E 4.1 The statement element < is invalid. The statement will
be ignored.
I don't speak pl/i, but if all else fails, you might try something like:
if a = b
 then  "do nothing";
 else  "whatever is done when not=";
   

Yes, it will work. But I'm afaid that any employer will refuse to talk to me after seen this code :) :) :)

(I hate PL, I always used assembler. But I need PL now... )
StanislavL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "NOT" character

Postby StanislavL » Tue Apr 07, 2009 4:25 pm

P.S. i've just found 2 solutions:
1. editor command "hex" :)
2. I switch to french keyboard, press ALT + "~/`" key and get a "normal" "¬" character :)
( In russian it's called "through a**hole" :) )

But a normal way must exist! :)
StanislavL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:50 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: "NOT" character

Postby dick scherrer » Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:34 am

Hello,

But a normal way must exist!
We can only hope :)

I've not looked hard, but i've not seen anything other than editing in hex or doing a copy/paste. Long ago, the client used an emulator that allowed mapping ALL of the 3270 keys rather than just the interrupt and cursor movement keys.
Hope this helps,
d.sch.
User avatar
dick scherrer
Global moderator
 
Posts: 6268
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:58 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 93 times

Re: "NOT" character

Postby Mahalakshmi R » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:47 pm

Hi,

For my terminal, we are using the key "ALT+6" for the symbol "¬" / "NOT".
Thanks,
Mahalakshmi Rajendran
Mahalakshmi R
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:50 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to PL/I

 


  • Related topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post